Posted by: peebles | February 20, 2009

Psalm 84:3 (NIV) ~ Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young— a place near your altar, O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.

Psalm 84:3 (NIV) ~ Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young— a place near your altar, O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.  

Even sparrow has found a home within the dwelling place of God. Notice if you will, the sparrow finds a perfect place to have her young, a place of safety, a place of shelter within the dwelling place. The writer of Psalm 84 begins with such affection with such adoration, “How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints for the courts of the Lord; my heart and flesh cry out for the living God.” 

To be in the presence of the Lord; everything within me aches, and longs to dwell in the house of the Lord, and there find a resting place, a place of safety, shelter and security. My desire is to be in the sanctuary, in the courts of the Living God, to be ever praising Him as we lift our hands in the sanctuary to give Him our praise. Psalm 84:4 (NIV) says, “Blessed are those who dwell in Your house; they are ever praising You.” 

There is a beautiful song of adoration to the Lord, from Psalm 84. The words of worship unto the LORD beautifully describe a longing to be in His presence, which is our dwelling place. 

How lovely are Thy dwelling- place O Lord of hosts,

My soul longs and yearns for Your courts,

My heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God.

 

One day in Thy presence is far better to me than gold,

Or to live my whole life somewhere else,

And I would rather be a door-keeper in Your house,

Than to take my fate upon myself.

 

You are my sun and my shield,

You are the lover from the start,

And the highway to Your city runs through my heart.                                                                                                                                                                                          

My friend, the sparrow in our text for today could not have chosen a better place to find rest, or a safe place to have her young and raise her family. The dwelling place of God should be a place of safety where we can raise our children, under the Divine protection of our Almighty Adonai. Let our nest, our home, be the dwelling place of our Adonai Lord God Almighty. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. I just recently was drawn to this verse and am writing a post about it on my blog which is devoted to helping parents establish God’s Word in their children. I found your site as I was researching. I would like to quote your last paragraph and link back to this page. Thanks for sharing your insights.


Leave a comment

Categories