Posted by: peebles | October 16, 2008

Isaiah 6:8 (KJV), “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?’ Then said I, ‘Here am I; send me’.”

Isaiah 6:8 (KJV), “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?’ Then said I, ‘Here am I; send me’.” 

Dwight L. Moody was a poorly educated, unordained, shoe salesman, who felt God’s call to preach the gospel. Early one morning, he and some friends gathered in a hay field for a season of prayer, confession, and consecration. His friend Henry Varley said, “The world has yet to see what God can do with, and for, and through, and in a man who is fully and wholly consecrated to Him.” D. L Moody later said, “I want to be that man, Here I am; send me.” 

Recently, I watch the film, Schindler’s List. It was amazing to see that one man can make a difference. Just one man can do so much. It is said, ‘that the doors of history are swung on small hinges.’ It is the small things that cause big things to happen. When we say, “Yes Lord, here I am; send me,” it may be just a small sentence, but it is power-packed with eternal implications, it is the rudder that changes our direction. It will change our history, and the eternal history of others.  

Doing it, is just doing it! To make that choice to say, “Here I am; send me,” is to say, “Lord, here I am, wholly available. As for me I will serve the Lord.” We don’t have to be a Harvard University graduate, or win a Nobel Peace Prize, or have a great job, or be an Olympic champion, or even be a great leader, to serve God. If you want to be great in the Kingdom of God, then learn to serve. In that way, everyone can be great, because everyone can serve. God is not looking for your abilities, but for your availability.  He is looking for someone who will say to Him, “Here I am; send me, I am willing to serve the Lord.”

My friend, just one man can make a difference. All it takes is one person to say, “Yes Lord, here I am; send me,” that the world may see what God can do through one man who is fully and wholly consecrated to Him. 

The Book of Acts is called the “Book of Acts,” because the disciples acted upon His calling. Doing it, is just doing it! Do you hear the words of Jesus speaking to your heart from our text today?  Isaiah 6:8 (KJV), “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?’ Then said I, ‘Here am I; send me’.” What is your response to His calling? Will you say, ‘Here I am; send me?’ 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a comment

Categories