Posted by: peebles | April 7, 2008

Psalm 18: 1 to 3 I love you, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies.

Psalm 18: 1 to 3 I love you, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies.

 

The way David starts the Psalm sets the tone for the next fifty verses. But the first three are the ones that stand out to me. First of all David personalizes these three verse’s by using the words ” My and I” in total 14 times. His relationship with his Lord his God, was where he received his strength, his deliverance and his victories. God was his refuge, his fortress, his stronghold and his rock in times of trouble. God was his strength when he felt weak, God was shield when they throw everything at him. God was his salvation. David learned to call upon the name of the Lord, and praise him through the good times as well as the bad. David experienced the saving power of the Lord time and time again from his enemy, because God is an awesome God.

 

David pours out his heart to the Lord in verse one by saying “I love you, O Lord” He is not ashamed nor is he embarrassed to say to the Lord “I love you”. In the mist of his family or friends. In the day of trouble David called out to the Lord, and He heard his cry, and the Lord saved him from his enemies.

 

My friend do we have such a close and personal relationship with God? Do we call out with all our heart in the midst of our family and friends ” `O` Lord I love you”. When we do have a close and intimate relationship with the Lord we can then say as David said, and live out these words in our lives from Psalm 18: 1 to 3, I love you, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies.

 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Shalom praise the lord & may God bless & thank you for posting this wonderful heart of worship .

  2. I was searching the google and found this site. There are many people here leaving useful comments and other essential information. thanks a lot for sharing!


Leave a comment

Categories