Posted by: peebles | August 28, 2014

Psalm 25:5 (NIV) ~ For you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.

On the 3rd of December 2009, at about 4 o’clock in the afternoon, a gentleman knocked on my door, dressed in what looked like his pajamas. He then put out his hand and offered me a small pebble. I looked at it and asked, “What is this for?” He said with a smile on his face, “It is a gift for you, it will bring you peace and prosperity, happiness and joy, when you put your faith in it, it will bring you luck. Now to make your lucky pebble work you must buy something from me.” I gave him back his small pebble which, unknown to him, I had seen him pick up a handful of them from the building site nearby before I walked into the house, about ten minutes previously.
My hope, my trust is in the Lord my God; it is in the Creator, rather than things which have been created. In the words of an old hymn written by Edward Mote:
My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness,
I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
The Bible says in Acts 17:28 (KJV), “For in him we live, and move, and have our being.” My happiness, my peace and my prosperity does not depend on, nor is it influenced by, objects or anything other than Jesus Christ my Savior. For me there are no such things as gods to which you chant to that bring you luck, no lucky charms that you wear, or horseshoes over the door of your house that chase away bad luck and bring you only good. Only trusting in the Savior of souls can bring you perfect peace and contentment.
When I was a child, I would buy a lucky bag (it had little sweets ‘candy’ and toys in a paper bag or a “grab bag” as it called in America) not knowing what was in it, but hoping for the best. However, more often than not, I was sorely disappointed with what was in those little bags; my hope was misplaced.
My life now is in the hands of the Living God, as our text for today says in Psalm 25:5 (NIV), “For you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.” When we put our hope in Him we are never disappointed.
My friend, how many times in life have you reached for the lucky bag of life only to be disappointed? When you give your life over to the Living God, and put your trust in the Creator, rather any object that has been created, you will find true joy, happiness, perfect peace and His blessings of prosperity.
God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

