Posted by: peebles | August 4, 2014

Psalm 86:2 (NIV) ~ I am devoted to you.

Psalm eighty-six opens up and blossoms with beautiful petals of truth whose aroma is a sweet scent of devotion to the one the psalmist loves. David’s prayer to the Lord is woven together with cords of love, with such words as, “for to you I life up my soul.” Then again, “Teach me your way, O Lord, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart and I will praise you with all my heart, I will glorify your name forever.”

In this psalm, David, in humility comes before his Master and Lord as a servant. He acknowledges the sovereignty of God, and pours out his heart to the creator of heaven and earth, holding nothing back. Not only is this psalm a prayer, it is also one which typifies David’s close relationship with the Lord. In verse three, you can hear the cry from his heart, “Lord, have mercy on me, O Lord, for I call to you all day long.” Such deep sighing from a heart that is desperate for more of the Living God. His cry is one from a place intimacy, born from a desire to serve the Lord with his whole heart.

David does not have snatched moments with the Lord in prayer. He does not cry out to God as if he is in desperation in the “Last Chance Saloon” of life, or the final long shot of prayer that is used by many a soul who only acknowledge God in their hour of need. But David says, “O Lord, for I call to you all day long.” He puts God in remembrance of His marvelous deeds, His past mighty works, His previous blessings and His great powerful acts of deliverance and vindication towards David, his servant. He then goes on to remind God of His gracious compassion, His abundant love, His acts of goodness and His great faithfulness.

But more, much more, if it is possible to comprehend, God is also a forgiving God abounding in love to all who call upon Him. For as we, His servants cry out to the Lord from a place of intimacy, as our gracious loving merciful Master, we can have the same assurance and the same confidence that David had: that He is a faithful God who keeps all His promises, as the Bible says in Psalm 86:7 (NIV), “In the day of my trouble I will call to you, for you will answer my prayer.”

My friend, what a place to be in, to have such a close relationship with the Lord, to be in that place of intimacy where we call out to the Lord with all our hearts as our text for today says in Psalm 86:2 (NIV), “I am devoted to you.” In an offering of dedication I surrender my whole life to you, as a willing servant with all my heart Lord, I love you. Let me have an undivided heart to follow you all the days of my life.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

