Posted by: peebles | July 16, 2014

Genesis 46:1 (Amplified Bible) ~ So Israel made his journey with all that he had and came to Beersheba a place hallowed by sacred memories and offered sacrifices to the God of his father Isaac.

When I was a young boy of about ten years old, I can remember going to my grandmother’s house. As you entered her house, you could not miss the pictures on the wall of her family. Everywhere in the house, you could see happy memories of people smiling, of school photos and wedding photos. You could see how people had changed over the years, by the clothes which they wore and the many different hair styles they had, not to mention the decorative wallpaper in the background of many a photo.
She also had things that her grandchildren made in pottery class on the mantel piece, showing them off to the world as if they were priceless masterpieces. My grandmother surrounded herself with fond precious memories, so in the stillness of the night, she could look at them and smile with gladness.
I can remember hearing this old gospel song sung by The Stanley Brothers, called “Precious Memories”:
Precious memories, unseen angels, sent from somewhere to my soul.
How they linger, ever near me, and the sacred scenes unfold.
Precious memories, how they linger, how they ever flood my soul.
In the stillness of the midnight, precious, sacred scenes unfold.
As I travel on life’s pathway, know not what the years may hold.
As I ponder, hope grows fonder, precious memories flood my soul.
Like Jacob in our text for today in Genesis 46:1 (Amplified Bible), “So Israel made his journey with all that he had and came to Beersheba a place hallowed by sacred memories and offered sacrifices to the God of his father Isaac,” we too can fill the walls of our life; fill the mantel piece of our heart with precious memories from God. We too can reflect with great gladness and smile on His goodness in our lives.
We can see where we have been, our lives once covered with the stains of sin, then washed clean by His precious blood. We can recollect with fondness on the many times in our lives in which God has turned our acts of faith into a priceless masterpiece for His Kingdom.
My friend, it is good at times to pause, to take a time out and just thank the Lord for all that He has done for us. Throughout life’s journey from here to glory, let us fill our lives every day with precious memories of His goodness and faithfulness. Precious memories are  made when you do something good for God, now go and have a great adventure in God so when you are resting and gazing upon His faithfulness and goodness over you life, you, too, can sing:
Precious memories, unseen angels, sent from somewhere to my soul.
How they linger, ever near me, and the sacred scenes unfold.
Precious memories, how they linger, how they ever flood my soul.
In the stillness of the midnight, precious, sacred scenes unfold.
As I travel on life’s pathway, know not what the years may hold.
As I ponder, hope grows fonder, precious memories flood my soul.
God bless you my friend, Pastor Matthew.

Leave a Reply

Categories

