Posted by: peebles | May 6, 2014

Genesis 24:49 (NIV) ~ Now if you will show kindness and faithfulness to my master, tell me; and if not, tell me, so I may know which way to turn.

As I read this verse afresh today, my heart was stirred within me. Oh, what beauty unfolded before my very eyes, oh, how precious is this verse. Here we have the master, Abraham, sending out his servant Eliezer of Damascus, to seek out a bride for the groom Isaac. Now, let us see how this verse applies to us today: our Master, who has trusted us with His estate, has sent us out to seek a bride for His groom Jesus.

Notice if you will, how Eliezer went about it. First, he was more than willing to go in his master’s name, and even along the way he prayed to God asking Him for His favor, submitting every little detail to God.

Then, when Eliezer met with someone, he was a friend to them, and then he told them why he came. Not only did Eliezer tell them the reason why he came, but he asked for an answer.

So also, as we meet people along our journey through life, let us be a friend to them, let us greet them with a smile, and let us be positive influence to them, bringing them the good news. Let also have the boldness to ask for an answer, will you come to Jesus?

O Jesus, thou hast promised to all who follow Thee,

That where thou art in glory, there shall thy servant be;

And Jesus, I have promised to serve thee to the end,

Oh, give me grace to follow, my Master and my Friend.

My friend, when we understand that we have been sent out, and that we have been given the “green light” to go and seek a bride for our groom, let us take every detail before the Lord, let us pray along the way, and tell the “whosoever” why we have come. Eliezer sought a bride for Issac, the groom. Likewise, we are sent out to seek souls for Jesus, our groom. May God grant you His favor and blessing as you go in His Name; the Name of your Master Jesus Christ, the Savior of souls.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Thank you Matthew, for reminding me of this powerful hymn that i sang with great fervour as a child. His promises are pure and holy. Please pray for me that i can turn over a new leaf in the evening and turn to God and His word, rather than worldly pursuits. May his blessings rain down upon you. Mandy


Leave a Reply

Categories

