Posted by: peebles | January 10, 2014

Proverbs 23:7 (KJV) ~ For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he.

Proverbs 23:7 (KJV) ~ For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he.

Let me ask you this question, “How awesome in God do you perceive yourself to be? Do you see yourself in a positive light or do you see yourself in a negative light? Do you really believe what God’s word says about you, about how much God loves you and how beautiful and awesome you are to Him?
Anyone who has ever taken even an elementary class in Sociology would have been introduced to Charles H. Cooley, theory of ‘The looking glass self.’ It states that a person’s self concept is established by what the most important person in their life thinks of them.

How is the most important person in your life? Or to give it a modern term, who is your life coach, the person who is speaking into your life and giving you direction and purpose. To me the greatest coach this world has ever known, that is Jesus Christ, He believes in me, He gives me direction and purpose, He is my Eternal Life coach, and if you know that your coach believes in you, you can go on to do anything.
Furthermore, when I read my Bible about the amazing things that God says about me in such verses as these, “I love you, you are my treasured possession, and you are the apple of my eye. Also, you are beautiful, oh how handsome you are, oh how charming!” I begin to think to myself “Wow, God thinks I am pretty amazing.”
Seriously, so many people have such a negative self imagine, they never think of themselves as good looking or that they can never achieve anything in life, they feel that they do not have one person who believes in them. So they rob themselves of greatness and of being happy, because they have let some nincompoop cripple them by their nasty comments. Over the years people have called them so many negative things filled with toxic venom, such as “Your nothing but trailer trash, your too fat, your too ugly, your pathetic and useless, your no good and will never amount to anything, no one will want anything to do with a loser like you.”

All these cruel and malicious comments have become terrible scars etched upon their hearts that have left a horrible mark upon their self esteem. As a result they are go about life thinking that no one will ever want them, or even like them for who they are. Their heads are always down because all their confidence has been kick out of them and they no longer feel wanted or worthy of anything. Their life echoes what they think in their heart about themselves, just at the word of God says in Proverbs 23:7 (KJV) For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he.
But here is an awesome promise from the word of God from Psalm 3:3 (KJV) O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. God is the up lifter of your head, God loves you and you are worthy in His sight of all His kindness, His love and every promise that He has ever made to bless you with.
This was the hinge moment which turned everything around for me. I began to read my Bible and from there I began to put Jesus first in my life, until He became the most important person in my life.
I began to let His word radically change me, I began to believe in His promises for my life and allow His promises to transform me into the man of God I am today. I would confess his promise over my life, with such words as, “I am strong in the Lord and power of His might. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I am child of the Living God, greater, bigger, stronger is He who live in me than he who is in the world, and I am more than a conqueror through Christ who loves me.

You must no longer let any inferiority complex, or fear of inadequacy, stop you from fulfilling your awesome potential in God, because His word clothes you with confidence; His Holy Spirit fills you with power and enables you to do all that God has called you to do.

It is time to throw off those garments of self pity and defeatism, throw away those rags of worthlessness and cloth yourself with the eternal promises of God.
It is time to start believing how amazing you are in the sight of God.
It is time to start believing that God wants to use to do mighty things for Him.
It is time to start believing that God has an awesome future for your life.
It is time to start believing that in God you are a champion!
Remember, your self-concept ultimately will be determined by what the most important person in your life thinks of you, and if you allow Jesus Christ to become the most important person in your life, you will develop a very positive self-image. Listen to what God has said to every believer; He has called you, He has anointed you, He has set His seal of approval on you, and He has sent you in His name. And, if God has done all this, then there is no doubt whatsoever, that He has the right person for the right job in YOU, because you are a champion and a MIGHTY WARRIOR OF THE LORD!


Responses

  1. Just what I needed to hear today. God has a way of doing that. My family — nonbelievers == constantly accuse me of not letting go of the past while I know that I have. If I don’t forgive, God won’t forgive me. But they are stuck in the past and completely snubbed me over Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s good to be reminded that the one who knows me the best loves me the most.


Leave a Reply

Categories

