Posted by: peebles | October 29, 2013

1 Kings 2:2 to 3 (NIV) ~ So be strong, show yourself a man, and observe what the LORD your God requires: Walk in his ways, and keep his decrees and commands.

Let me focus on this simple yet powerful statement, “Show yourself a man, and observe what the LORD your God requires”.

As I was growing up, from my adolescent years into manhood, I was told that in order to show yourself to be a man, you had to be tough. The impression I was left with was “big men” never say that they are sorry, “big men” never admit that they are wrong, and “big men” never cry. I grew up with the macho image of what a man should be. This idea was further supported when I watched old-fashioned western movies with lead men such John “The Duke” Wayne and Robert Redford who played the part of Jeremiah Johnson. Then of course, there was Harry Callahan played by Clint Eastwood and even James Cagney who played Rocky Sullivan in the film, “Angels With Dirty Faces” in 1938. I would be remiss if I failed the mention the “Rocky” and “Rambo” movies starring Sylvester Stallone.

The world tries to shape you into a stereotype. I have even heard this said to young men, “Be a real man, be a man’s man.” While I agree men have to be men, it is more important that men rise up and be examples to others of how real men should be, by the way in which they speak, act and treat others, but most of all, in the way in which to love God and have a servant heart towards the things of His Kingdom.

It is my opinion, No, it is more than that, it is my conviction that God calls us to be men; that each of us must take up the baton and be a real man.

A man who walks with God,
A man who obeys His word,
A man who has respect for God and for others,
A man who treats his family well,
A man who leads by example,
A man who rises up to the challenge and stands up for his convictions,
A man who covers his family in prayer,
A man who is approachable and caring,
A man who is not full of selfish pride, but humble in heart,
A man who admits when he is wrong,
A man who says he’s sorry and means it ,when it is needed,
A man who has integrity and is honourable,
A man who is not afraid to cry out to God in prayer,
A man who shows his emotions and his kind heart,
A man who keeps his promise,
A man who has a strength of character in Christ Jesus,
A man who has a deep desire to follow Jesus.

The challenge to show yourself a man is not one which is proven in your acts of male testosterone, or bullish behavior. But the Bible says in Micah 6:8 (NIV) “He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God”.

My friend, if you want an example of what I know a real man is, I would ask you to look to Jesus Christ. He is a man’s man, and He is the perfect example of what a real man is. If there is anyone in the world I would love to aspire to be like, it would be Jesus. He showed Himself to be a man. Now God is calling men everywhere to rise up and be the man of God He wants you to be and show yourself to be a man.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing God’s truth! It is such an encouragement to see a man following Jesus. Your post gave me great hope. God bless you as you bless others!


Leave a Reply

Categories

