Posted by: peebles | October 14, 2013

Psalm 18:17 (NIV) ~ He rescued me.

Twice in Psalm 18:17 and 19 you can read these words, “He rescued me” and then, in verse 48 of Psalm 18, the psalmist says this, “You rescued me”. In verses 17 and 19 the Hebrew word for rescue is nasal meaning “to be saved, to be delivered, to be spared, to be snatched from danger, protected and recovered. The Hebrew word in verse 48 of Psalm 18 is for rescue is halas meaning “delivered, to be rescued from something”.

Do you remember the 1965 hit “Rescue Me”? It is a song written by Raynard Miner and Carl Smith, released as a single by Fontella Bass in 1965. It would prove the biggest hit of Bass’s career, placing at number four on the Billboard Hot 100, as well as hitting number eleven on the UK Singles Chart.

Here are some of the lyrics to the song:

Rescue me, take me in your arms,

Rescue me, I want your tender charms, Cuz I’m lonely and I’m blue,

I need you and your love too, Come and rescue me.

When you call out to God in the midst of your trouble, He will rescue you. Imagine, if you will that, you were on a ship, and have fallen overboard in the middle of the sea. From there a lifeline is cast out to you, for you to cling to it. As the rescuer pulls you to safety, and are saved. Now consider this, you at one time had fallen overboard and were lost in your sea of sin. From there you cried out to Jesus. He became your lifeline, you clung to Him as He rescued you and you were saved!

The Bible says in Romans 12:9 (NIV), “Cling to what is good.” The young child, as he is being brought out of a burning house, simply clings to the Fireman. He does ask the Fireman if his arms are strong enough to carry him, he just clings. He does not worry any longer about the ladder, he just clings. With every step the rescuer takes the young child is taken away from the flames, as the young child simply clings to him. So in child-like faith cling to Jesus as He carries you away from the flames of hell. Cling to Jesus with all your strength; cling to your Rescuer.

Many a man or woman, before they called out to Jesus for Him to save them, had one foot on a bar of soap and another on slippery grave, and they were sliding fast to a lost eternity in hell. But Jesus rescued them, He reached down and took hold of them, and He rescued them from the flames of hell.

The Bible says in Psalm 40:1 to 3 (NIV), “I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. (He rescued me) He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.”

My friend, whatever situation you find yourself in, whatever enemy stands against you, whatever problem is before you, just call out to Jesus, your Lifeline. Cling to Him, the One who is your mighty Rescuer. Let His loving arms wrap around you and keep you safe every second of the day. This same God, who King David wrote of in Psalm 18:17 (NIV), “He rescued me”; will surely rescue you in your time of trouble.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

