Posted by: peebles | August 31, 2013

1 Chronicles 4:10 (NIV) ~ Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request.

This is an amazing verse, tucked away in the book of 1 Chronicles in the Old Testament. It is like a very precious gem, just waiting to be found. It is only when you read 1 Chronicles 4:10 that you discover it, like buried treasure.
Jabez, the Bible says in 1 Chronicles 4:9, was a man of honor. The Bible tells us that he was more honorable than his brothers. Where are the men of honor today? Has the word “honor” become just a byword? It is not only noble to be honorable, but it is a characteristic of someone who has dignity, integrity, and high moral principles. Furthermore, Jabez believed in the Lord his God. He was a man of honor with godly principles, who stood out from the crowd. Therefore, when you make the choice to be an instrument of honorable purposes for the Kingdom of God, and when you honor God, God will honor you.
The prayer of Jabez is only twenty-nine words long, but it changed his whole life! your prayers need not be lengthy, but can be as short as, “Oh God have mercy on me, a sinner.” It is the content from your heart which speaks volumes in the courts of heaven. Jabez cried out to the Lord. His prayer was personal and profound. In those twenty-nine words, five of them were a personal plea. God hears your personal pleas from the depths of your heart, and delights to answer your prayers.
Jabez cried out to the Lord in prayer for God to bless him, for God to enlarge his territory, for the hand of God to be with him and for God to keep him from harm, so he would be free from pain.
Lord, let you blessing and favor be upon me, enlarge my territory, both spiritually and physically, with a harvest of souls for Your Kingdom. Lord, let Your hand be with me in power, and not against me, for if are for me, then who can stand against me? Keep me, Lord, from harm, protect me and keep me in good health so I would be free from pain.
My friend, when you chose to honor God and to walk before Him in holiness and integrity, God will honor You. Then like Jabez, who called out to the Lord, “Bless me, enlarge my territory, let Your hand be with me, keep me safe from harm so I will be free from pain,” may God enlarge your territory spiritually, may you be successful and prosper in all every area of you life, may He also enlarge your harvest and may all your carts over flow with His blessing. May His hand of favor be open before you, filled with one good thing after another and may He keep you in good health and free from pain. May God grant your request, just as He granted Jabez his request.
God bless you my friend, Matthew.

Responses

  1. A few years ago someone made a lot of money by writing a book on the prayer of Jabez, he called it, ‘prayer of Jabez’. Suddenly the whole Christian community in the US became awoken and everyone prayed the prayer of Jabez. I’d forgotten about it but a few weeks ago came upon it again and now you’re expounding on it. It’s one of the many pearls of wisdom in God’s word.

  2. Thank you for reminding me that short, sincere prayers are of great value


Leave a Reply

Categories

