Posted by: peebles | August 30, 2013

1 Samuel 7:12 (NIV) Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen. He named it Ebenezer, saying, “Thus far has the LORD helped us.”

Samuel, first of all gained the victory through prayer. The Bible says in 1 Samuel 7:5 (NIV) Then Samuel said, “Assemble all Israel at Mizpah and I will intercede with the Lord for you.”  If we ever want to win the victory, and want to walk in victory, it must, first and foremost, begin in prayer.

When the victory was won, they gave glory to the Lord, for His help. It is through the Lord that we gain the victory. They set up a memorial to the Lord, and named it, “Ebenezer” meaning, “Thus far the lord has helped us”.

When we raise our, “Ebenezer’s” to the Lord, our memorial to what he has done for us, let us not stop there; let us not allow our movement in the Lord to become a memorial. Let it not become merely a place that we keep going back to, time and time again, and not moving forward. For The LORD who has brought us thus far will continue to do so time and time again.

Notice the words of Samuel, “Thus far the Lord has helped us”. Everyday we are going forward on to gain more ground, to take the battle to the enemy, to see hell empty and heaven full. But it must always begin in prayer, God is calling everyone of us to be a warrior in prayer, an intercessor who would seek the face of God, and first gain the victory in prayer, and then go in the power of the Lord to take the ground. With every step that we take, we can say with great confidence, time and time again, “Thus far the Lord has helped us”, and give glory to God because of His help and answer to prayer.

The old gospel song written by R. Robertson has these wonderful lyrics found within verse two of,  ‘Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing.’

Here I raise my Ebenezer; hither by thy help I come, and I hope by thy good pleasure, safely to arrive at home. I, my Ebenezer raise to the kind Redeemer’s praise; with a grateful heart I own, hitherto thy help I have known. What may be my future lot, well I know concerns me not; this should set my heart at rest, what thy will ordains is best.’

My friend, thus far, the Lord has helped you and me, but there is more! Let us not hinder the progress by going back, time and time again, to past blessings, but let us move forward to new ones. It is always right to give God the glory for what He has done, but let us give Him thanks for what He is doing now, and is going to do. God is our stone of help, our precious stone our Rock. He has not only helped us thus far, but will do so time and time again. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

