Posted by: peebles | May 23, 2013

Luke 5:18 (NIV) ~ Some men came carrying a paralytic on a mat and tried to take him into the house to lay him before Jesus.

It was a dark, cold night as the old man lay on the bed. Suddenly, his son burst into the room, and declared with enthusiasm, “Father! I have heard Jesus is coming back to Capernaum tomorrow.  We can take you there. I’m sure Jesus can heal you, so you can walk again.”

 
But His father sighed, “We are in Bethsaida , and that is five miles away. How am I going to get there, as I cannot walk and have been paralyzed for twenty years now? We have no donkey to carry me, we have no way of going to Capernaum, nor do we have the money to hire a boat to cross the lake.”
 
But the son would not be put off, “But father, Jesus will heal you, I am sure of it. Even if I have to carry you myself all the way to Jesus in Capernaum , I will do it. Father I love you, I want you to get well again, I want to see you walk again. Father, I believe Jesus can heal you. Surely what he has done for others, he will do for you. No matter what it takes, I will take you to Jesus.”
 
In the morning as the sun arose, the son was the first up and out of the house, before anyone else was stirred. About an hour later he came back to the house, this time, with three of his friends and a mat with four carrying poles which he had made. The son said with such faith and persuasion to his father, “Today is your day! Today we take you to Jesus; I know he can heal you.” 
 
So the four friends gently lifted the old man onto the carrying mat, and headed off to Capernaum . It was a hard journey carrying the old man, with the ropes tried around their shoulders to share the load. It took them six hours, stopping every now and again to rest. Finally, they arrived at Capernaum . From their view point at the top the hill looking down, they could see a throng of people. The crowd so big, how could they possibly get to Jesus? “Come on,” said the son, “we have come this far, let’s not give up now!”
 
They slowly made their way down towards the place where Jesus was. When they arrived, He had gone inside a house. However, try as the may, they could not get a man and the mat on which he was laying, through the crowd. But not to be put off, the son noticed stairs leading to the roof of the house. “Come on,” he shouted, “this way!”
 
“What are you doing?” asked his father with a puzzled look on his face.
 
“Father, I promised you that I would take you to see Jesus. I said that no matter what it takes, I will do it, and that is exactly what I am going to do!” answered the son with determination in his voice.
 
“Let’s take the tiles away and lower my father down through the roof,” the son said to his three friends. They all agreed, and started taking the roof tiles off the top of the house.
 
Meanwhile, in the house, Jesus was talking, when suddenly some people noticed dust falling from the roof, and sunlight coming in through it. Bit by bit a hole appeared in the roof, and it kept getting bigger, until faces appeared through it.
 
The owner of the house looked up in utter shock, “My roof!” he protested. But Jesus looked at him and smiled.
 
In no time at all, the son and his friends were lowering the son’s father, on the mat, down though the hole they had made in the roof, right in front of Jesus.
 
When Jesus saw their faith, he said, “Friend, your sins are forgiven.”
The Pharisees and the teachers of the law began thinking to themselves, “Who is this fellow who speaks blasphemy? Who can forgive sins but God alone?”
Jesus knew what they were thinking and asked, “Why are you thinking these things in your hearts? Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk?’ But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins….” He said to the paralyzed man, “I tell you, get up, take your mat and go home.” Immediately, he stood up in front of them, took what he had been lying on and went home, praising God. Everyone was amazed and gave praise to God. They were filled with awe and said, “We have seen remarkable things today.”
That day, not only did his father receive physical healing, but he had his sins forgiven. His father walked all the way home, and as he got near to his home, he shouted out to his wife as he ran towards her, “I can walk! Look I can walk! Jesus has healed me! Glory to God!”
His wife flung her arms around her husband, and cried tears of joy, and thanked God for healing her husband, and there was great rejoicing in that household.
My friend, do not let anyone or anything stop you from coming to Jesus for a miracle. What He has done for others, he will do for you! Jesus can and will forgive your sin. He will heal you and make you whole again. Trust in the lord with all your heart, and turn to Him in your hour of need. Jesus is always faithful to His promises, for He is the same yesterday, today and forever; as our Saviour, our Healer, our Baptiser in the Holy Spirit and our coming King. Hallelujah!
God bless you my friend, Matthew.

Leave a Reply

Categories

