Posted by: peebles | February 4, 2013

Psalm 63:4 (NIV) ~ I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.

Hands raised and heart surrendered was how I worshiped the Lord today, with my head tilted back gazing upwards, as if looking up to heaven, pouring out my love songs to Jesus, with such adoration, my voice singing His praises, with words of sheer devotion, bursting into spontaneous, exuberant praise.

In the words of an old hymn written by Joseph Addison (1672-1719): 

When all Thy mercies, O my God, my rising soul surveys.

Transported with the view, I’m lost in wonder, love and praise.

Oh, what a privilege it is to worship my King, to bow before His throne and there, offer Him my worship, singing melodies of sweetest praise, marveling at His saving grace, standing in awe of His amazing love and singing over and over again, “I love you Lord.” With each syllable which flows off my tongue expressing the deepest desire of my heart, with each word given in the language of heaven, by the Holy Spirit, helping me worship in spirit and in truth, from my innermost being, offered unto You my Savior, I am lost in worship, lost in love, lost in praise for evermore, because of your love for me.

He has poured out to me in abundance, His mercy, love and grace.

This done, my cheerful voice, shall with loud hosannas raise;

My soul shall glow with gratitude, my lips shall sing His praise.

My friend, we are called to worship the LORD in spirit and truth. Just because the music stops does not mean we stop worshiping. Our lives should be a daily offering of worship to Jesus, we can worship Him with our tithes, our gifts, our offerings of praise, praise which is born from a grateful heart, a heart overflowing with eternal worship as the old hymn says: 

When we’ve been there ten thousand years, bright shining as the sun,

We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise, then when we first begun.

Today, even in the quietness of our homes before we leave for work, or the beginning of the day, let us have our tent of meeting with the Lord, to lay our day before Him as an act of worship from the start of it, and say from Psalm 63:4 (NIV), “I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands,” in sweet surrender to You, my gracious Master and Lord.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

