Posted by: peebles | January 28, 2013

Psalm 57:8 (NIV) ~ Awake, my soul! Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn.

Twice in Scripture these two verses are centered on praise unto God. The writer of these Psalms makes a concise decision to make melody in his heart to God. He awakens the dawn, he breaks forth in praise. He speaks to his souls and says, “Awake, my soul and praise the Lord.” Notice that within each Psalm, on four occasions, the words of determination to do something, those words being, “I will.” These words not only imply determination, but an actual conscious decision, a resolution, as it were: “I will.”

Psalm 57:7 to 8 (NIV) ~ My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast; I will sing and make music. Awake, my soul! Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn. I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples.

Psalm 108:1 to 3 (NIV) ~ My heart is steadfast, O God; I will sing and make music with all my soul. Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn. I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples.

1. I will sing and make music with my soul.

2. I will awaken the dawn.

3. I will praise you, O Lord.

4. I will sing of you among the peoples.

My heart is steadfast, it will not be moved, I want to praise you Lord. I will awaken my soul to burst out in spontaneous praise. There comes a time when we have to awaken the dawn from the deadness of the night; to let the bow upon the violin of our heart make music unto the Lord; every note a melody of praise.

My friend, will you awaken the dawn today? Will you sing unto the Lord and make melody in your heart to Him today? When you begin to praise God and awaken the dawn within your soul, springing into praise with anthems bursting out and bubbling over in praise unto God, then you will find a new release, and you will be strengthened in your faith and the dark clouds which once stood in your way will be swept away. May this be your song today, “I will sing and make music with my soul, I will awaken the dawn, I will praise you O Lord, I will sing of you and your greatness, your faithfulness and your goodness towards me.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

