Posted by: peebles | January 7, 2013

Proverbs 23:26 (NIV) ~ My son, give me your heart.

The heart is where our emotions come from, it is where we feel and are touched by the things of life. The Bible says in Psalm 86:11 (NIV), “Teach me your way, O LORD, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.” It is with the heart that we believe in Jesus, and it is with a willing heart that we follow Jesus. A heart full of love for God that flows with compassion is what God desires to work with; a heart full of kingdom living principals, with pure holy motives.

Yet, the heart can be very fragile, it can be easily broken. Though we see pictures of a heart and the shape of it as a romantic gesture, the truth is the natural shape of someone’s heart from their body is just a muscle with many valves to pump the blood around the body. However, life flows from the heart.  It is better to have a heart of flesh than a heart of stone. The Bible says in Deuteronomy 6:5 (NIV), “Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.” Notice if you will that to love God begins with loving Him with all your heart. The Bible also says in 1 Peter 3:15 (NIV), “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.”

God cares about your heart. He cares about the deep things from your heart and the things that cause your heart pain. The safest place for your heart to be is within the hands of Jesus, who is the Healer of the broken-hearted.

My friend, in our text for today, God is kindly saying in all wisdom from Proverbs 23:26 (NIV), “My son, give me your heart.”  And more than that, He’s saying, “Give me your heart and let me keep it safe.” Will your response be as the lyrics of this song by Darlene Zschech: 

This is my desire, to honor you; Lord, with all my heart I worship you,

All I have within me, I give you praise, all that I adore is in you,

Lord, I give you my heart, I give you my soul.

God bless you my friend, Matthew


Leave a Reply

Categories

