Posted by: peebles | December 11, 2012

John 1:41 to 42 (NIV) ~ The first thing Andrew did was to find his brother Simon and tell him, “We have found the Messiah” (that is, the Christ). And he brought him to Jesus.

Andrew had only just began to follow Jesus, and in his excitement of finding out that Jesus was the Lamb of God who had come to take away the sin of the world, he went away to find his brother to tell him about Jesus. We witness his raw enthusiasm, with a dynamic response to know Jesus. Andrew now had a new desire, a new passion, which was for his family to know about Jesus.

Andrew was a disciple of John the Baptist, a preacher with a message of repentance. John’s trail-blazing ministry, his pioneering attitude, broke new ground. Firstly, with the message of repentance, and secondly, with baptism in water by full immersion. Andrew was there when John talked about Jesus as the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world. He heard him say that Jesus would baptise, not with water, but with the Holy Spirit and fire. When Jesus was baptized, the heavens opened up, and as the Holy Spirit descended on Him as a dove, a voice came from heaven saying, “This is my Son, whom I love; with Him I am well pleased.”

Andrew rushed off to find his brother, saying, “We have found the Messiah! We have found Jesus!”  He told his brother about Jesus, and he  brought him to Jesus.

Whenever we get the opportunity to share the good news about Jesus with someone, we should not use church jargon, but simple, truthful, easy to understand language, to tell them about Jesus. Furthermore, if someone with whom we have shared the gospel  wants to go along to a church meeting, we should try our best to bring them.

There is a joy and an excitement about Andrew and an eagerness to share Jesus with his brother. He expresses enthusiasm to tell someone about Jesus. The Bible says in our text for today in John 1:41to 42 (NIV),T”he first thing Andrew did was to find his brother Simon and tell him, ‘We have found the Messiah’ (that is, the Christ). And he brought him to Jesus.”

The first thing on Andrew’s mind was to tell his brother about the good news, about Jesus who is the Messiah! My friend, can you remember when you first received Jesus as your Lord and Savior? Can you remember the passion that burned within you about telling someone about Jesus? I can remember the very night I received Jesus as my Lord and Savior. The first thing I did was to go home and tell my dad all about Jesus. I told him I had received Jesus as my Lord and Savior. The next day, I could not wait to tell all my family and friends about Jesus.

The following week, my whole family came to church to know more about Jesus. Then when I went to work on the Monday, there was a change in me. People could see something different. I told them all about Jesus. Whoever I met, I told them about Jesus. May we return to our first love and do the things we did at first. May we be stirred, once again, to share with a passion, the good news about Jesus, who takes away the sin of the world. May we be proactive in sharing the good news about Jesus Christ the Messiah. May we be instrumental in bringing people to Jesus, and may we go in his name, to find someone to tell about Jesus, with a fresh excitement, with a fresh passion, and with a fresh hunger to see the lost saved.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

