Posted by: peebles | November 16, 2012

Psalm 73:28 (NIV) ~ But as for me, it is good to be near God. I have made the Sovereign LORD my refuge.

The Kings James Bible says in Psalm 73:28, “But it is good for me to draw near to God.” To draw near is to a have a continual walk, always drawing nearer with each and every step one takes, towards God. The sinner may say, “It is good for me to enjoy the pleasures of the flesh.” The philosopher may say, “It is good for me to enjoy the pleasures of the mind.” But the child of God will say, “It is good for me to enjoy the LORD.” Just as the Psalmist says in our text for today, “It is good for me to be near God.”

By referring to God as the Sovereign LORD shows that the writer of this Psalm had a covenant relationship with the LORD. From the writers covenant relationship with the Sovereign LORD, he calls the LORD his refuge. The Hebrew word for refuge is mahesh, meaning place of shelter, a refuge, a shelter from danger, a safe place of protection. There is no better place to find shelter, no better place to find protection, than to make the Sovereign LORD your refuge.

My friend, through the storms of life, through the trials and sometimes difficult paths which you tread upon, you need a safe refuge. There is none better than the one you find within a loving, covenant relationship with the Sovereign LORD. Today, may your testimony echo that of the writer of Psalm 73:28 (NIV), “But as for me, it is good to be near God. I have made the Sovereign LORD my refuge.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

