Posted by: peebles | October 24, 2012

1 Kings 22:43 (NIV) ~ In everything he walked in the ways of his father Asa and did not stray from them; he did what was right in the eyes of the LORD.

Jehoshaphat walked in the ways of his father Asa and did want was right in the eyes of the Lord. Josiah also walked in the ways of his father and did the same. However, you can find another phrase in the Bible again and again, which describes other people, “And he walked in the ways of his father and did evil in the eyes of the Lord.” Therefore, the question is which father are you walking in the ways of today? Whose path are you walking in? What spiritual father do you look up to? What godly influence has guided you? What father figure in the Lord has helped you walk in the ways of the Lord?

We all need a father figure in the faith, a father who will guide us in the things of the Lord, someone who we can turn to for help when we need it the most, someone who will be there for us when we need some godly council and someone we can trust. The Apostle Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 2:11 (KJV), “As ye know how we exhorted and comforted and charged every one of you, as a father doth his children.” Paul spoke to them as a father to his children, a spiritual father helping them grow in God and grow in faith.

Real spiritual fathers care for their children and they only want God’s best for them. They have been trailblazers in more ways than one, so therefore, they have a wealth of experience to pass on; they have insights into God’s word because of years of studying and praying; they are spiritual fathers whose ways are worth walking in. The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 4:15 (KJV), “For though ye have ten thousand instructors in Christ, yet have ye not many fathers.” Real spiritual fathers are a gift from God, and a treasure to have.

When I was young I used to play childish games, one of which was to walk around the bedroom in my dad’s shoes and pretend to be him. I looked up to my dad in more ways than one. He used to tell me Bible stories and he taught me how to pray. I will never forget the godly input into my life that my dad gave me. Now I am much older, I have learned to walk in the ways of my father, to love the Lord my God with all my heart, with all my soul and with all my strength. I could never, even now fill my dad shoes, but I can walk in the ways of my father who loved the Lord.

Someone may say, “I do not want to walk in the ways of my father who never followed Jesus.” Then, pray that the Lord would bring into your life a father figure in the things of the kingdom.

My friend, whose ways are you walking in today? Walk in the way of the Master, follow in His footsteps and you will always do what is right in the eyes of the LORD your God.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

