Posted by: peebles | October 19, 2012

Psalm 18:1 (NIV) ~ I love you, O LORD.

Last night as I prayed to the Lord, I found myself saying time and time again, “Thank you Jesus, I love you Lord.” I am just so grateful to Jesus for the day He saved me, for the day He gave me a second chance, for the day He forgave my sin, for the day He called me His own and gave me a home in heaven to look forward to.

I, too, can echo these words written by a young boy who, when he was only sixteen, wrote this timeless hymn of adoration and praise to Jesus.

His name was William F. Featherstone (1846-73). Within the words of this hymn flowed words from a heart that was in love with Jesus, and was not embarrassed, nor ashamed to sing the wonders of His mercy, love and grace.

My Jesus, I love Thee, I know Thou art mine; For Thee all the follies of sin I resign;
My gracious Redeemer, my Savior art Thou; If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

I love Thee because Thou hast first loved me, and purchased my pardon on Calvary’s tree; I love Thee for wearing the thorns on Thy brow; If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

I’ll love Thee in life, I will love Thee in death, And praise Thee as long as Thou lendest me breath; And say when the death dew lies cold on my brow, If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

In mansions of glory and endless delight, I’ll ever adore Thee in heaven so bright;
I’ll sing with the glittering crown on my brow, If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

If a young boy who was saved by grace can write such a timeless hymn of worship to Jesus, just because he loved Him, then what can you do to shower praise upon praise with heart-felt meaning to your Savior? Can you humble yourself, fall down on your knees before your great King and there, lift up your voice unto Jesus and say with gratitude and every fiber of your being, “If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now?” Today lift a banner of worship and say, with the writer from our text for today in Psalm 18:1 (NIV),I love you, O LORD.”

My friend, I can honestly say, “If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now…’tis now and evermore.” I, for one, am not ashamed to say, “Lord I love you.” I, for one, am ever grateful to Jesus Christ for dying for my sin and paying my ransom so I, the guilty one, may be free. Oh, how my heart forever flows with worship, praise and adoration to Jesus for what He has done for me.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

