Posted by: peebles | October 17, 2012

Psalm 4: 8 (NIV) I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

There is the one thing that we all need from time to time, and that is a good refreshing sleep. The Bible says in Psalm 3: 5 (NIV) I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me. There is also this verse of Scripture within Proverbs 3: 24 (NIV) When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. Imagine that, your sleep will be sweet, in other words, ‘sweet dreams’.

A recent survey showed that children who get an extra 45 minutes sleep a night are a lot more alert and attentive in class, and even adults are more productive after a good night’s sleep. My grandmother used to say, “Better to go to bed an hour before midnight, than an hour after it”.

When I was a young boy my dad taught me a simple prayer as I laid my head upon the pillow at night, he would say, “As I lay down to sleep, I pray that Lord my soul to keep”. Many years later when I became an adult even though I still said the payer my dad taught me all those years ago, if something was on my mind I would toss and turn all night just thinking it over time and time again in my head, which made me feel stressed instead of at peace, but if I had simply taken the advice from the Bible in Psalm 4: 4 (NIV) When you’re on your beds at night, search your hearts and be silent. And cast my cares upon the Lord then my heart would have been silent, my mind would have stopped rushing everywhere at a hundred miles an hour I would have had a good night’s sleep.

In the words from a dear and precious old hymn written by Joseph Scriven (1819-86)

What friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and grief’s to bear,                                                                                                                                                       What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer,                                                                                                                                                                 O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,                                                                                                                                                 All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.   

There are times when we all need a good night’s sleep, to help us rest and refresh ourselves. There is a peace in God that helps us face anything, even in the midst of a storm in the book of Mark chapter 4:38 (NV) it says of the Lord, “Jesus was in the stern sleeping on a cushion”. He knew God was in control and He trusted fully upon Him, it is all about turning things over to the God, about trusting him with everything. The Bible says in Isaiah 26: 3 to 4 (KJV) “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusts in thee. Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength, “He is also our everlasting peace.

My friend, as you lay down to sleep tonight. I pray that the Lord gives you sweet dreams, a restful sleep and when you wake up your will be refreshed in the Lord.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

