Posted by: peebles | July 31, 2012

Isaiah 40:1 (NIV) ~ Comfort, comfort my people, says your God.

Oh, sweetly and tenderly does God comfort His people. How gentle, yet so strong are those everlasting arms of God. Looking back on my childhood, when I was only about five years old, I can remember falling and slightly skinning my knee cap. It was painful as I lay on the ground crying, holding my knee close to my chest. My dad heard my crying and instinctively came to where I was. He knelt down beside me, and held me in his arms.

“Let me have a look,” he said. Then, in a way only a loving father could, He put his hand on my knee, and kissed it better. “Aww, it’s all better now, daddy kissed the pain away, all better,” he said to me in tender loving tones. Then he picked me up and held me close and said, “I love you, I am always here for you, to comfort you whenever you need me to.”

My dad had a listening heart. Whenever I needed someone to talk to, my dad was there for me. He just knew how to say the right words at the right time. If I was in distress, my dad would comfort me. He had this way of claiming me down, of bringing me peace and in his tenderness; he would gently build me back up when I was down. If my head dropped for any reason, he would comfort me and encourage me. He would pick me up and help me lift my head up and walk tall again.

My friend, Jesus has given to us the heavenly Divine Comforter, the Holy Spirit, who will comfort us in our time of need, our time of pain, of loss and loneliness. When we need to hear even a gentle whisper of reassurance and encouragement, the Holy Spirit will comfort us. If we fall or are let down and hurt, our heavenly Father will put His loving arms around us and hold us close. He will kiss the pain away with His healing touch. God is the up lifter of our heads. He will lift us up and give us His grace and comfort in our time of need. He is the God of all comfort, in every way.

As God has given us His comfort in our time of need, He also helps us to reach out to others with the love, mercy and compassion of Christ Jesus to those who are hurting, so we can minister to them. The Bible says in 2 Corinthians 1:3 to 4 (NIV), “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” Now we, in turn, can fulfil our heavenly Father’s request to us from Isaiah 40:1 (NIV), “Comfort, comfort my people, says your God.” Everyone needs compassion, a love that’s never failing, and everyone needs forgiveness, the kindness of a Saviour. Everyone needs the gentle and tender comfort of the Holy Spirit from the heart of a heavenly Father who loves them so much.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

