Posted by: peebles | June 14, 2012

Philippians 3:14 (NIV) ~ I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Recently I asked myself two radically life changing questions; they were as follows: firstly, “Where do I want to be?” and secondly, “How do I get there?” As a believer in the Lord, however, the emphasis is less on where do I want to be and more on where does the LORD want me to be followed by, “Lord, how do I get there?” The other questions are: where do I see myself in two or three year’s time? What do I want to achieve? What kind of goals do I have that drive me forward in Christ Jesus? Am I purpose-driven to please the LORD? Can you imagine the Apostle Paul saying, “So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us, because we’re off and running with no turning back, fully committed to pressing onward.”

There is a Divine promise from the Lord in Proverbs 16:3 (NIV), “Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” The key to this promise being fulfilled is in your willingness to obey the Lord and lay all your plans before Him. The Bible also says in Psalm 20:4 (NIV), “May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed.” God wants you to be successful, to be fruitful, to be victorious and be purpose-driven with Godly goals.

Written in the United States of America’s Declaration of Independence are these beautiful words, “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.” The pursuit of life, liberty and happiness is one that many people strive for. The question is how do you get there? Within the kingdom of God you will find life, liberty and happiness in Jesus; abundant Life, freedom, true peace, power and joy in the Holy Spirit.

It is all very well looking at the top of the steps, however if you want to get there you have to take a step of faith, one step at a time. If you desire to achieve educational diplomas, degrees and Doctorates you have to study hard. So why not study hard to be a success in the ministry and strive for excellence in serving God? The Bible says in 2 Timothy 2:15 (KJV), Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.”

My friend, God wants you to have a vision and see it fulfilled, to have a goal to achieve and to have plans to succeed. God wants your will to be in the center of His for your life. The plan of many a man can be found with the Declaration of Independence, “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.” However, the plans God has for your life can be found within the book of Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV), “‘For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” Do you, this day, have the courage to ask the LORD these two radically life changing questions, “LORD where do you want me to be?” And, “How do I get there?”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

