Posted by: peebles | April 26, 2012

Isaiah 40:11 (NIV) ~ He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart.

Recently, I was blessed when my wife gave me a gift of a beautiful framed picture, which I hung in the most prominent place in the living room. As I sat across the room just gazing upon it, I could feel the compassion and raw emotion of the pencil sketch as it bore deep into my heart. The pencil sketch was of a lamb leaning across the heart of Jesus with its head resting on His shoulder while the gentle arm of Jesus, in an act of loving compassion, is draped over the lamb. His head is tilted towards the lamb, and His eyes are closed as He lovingly embraces the lamb. The lamb, in turn, has a look of peace, rest and absolute trust while in the loving embrace of the Great Shepherd.

In my spirit, I could see myself as that little lamb, lost in His loving embrace, resting in the arms of Jesus, as He holds me close to His heart. His nail pierced hands gently, yet firmly, holding me close, never letting go.

My friend, today let the Great Shepherd lift you up in His loving arms and carry you close to His heart. Lean against His shoulder, rest there and know you are safe, safe in the arms of a Loving Jesus.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. Thank you brother Mattew. You make me carry this morning. God bless you.

  2. I am doing a Bible study that somehow linked me to your site. I so needed this today. Thank you for sharing and do you have any idea where your wife found that sketch? http://www.predatory-lies.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

