Posted by: peebles | March 13, 2012

2 Kings 4:26 (KJV) ~ And she answered, “It is well.”

“Where is he?” the woman asked at the accident and emergency desk with urgency in her voice. With her lips quivering and tears rolling down her face, she again asked, “Where is my husband?” Just then a doctor came out of one of the emergency doors, so the woman rushed over to the doctor and with all she could muster, asked the doctor, “My husband, what happened? Is he all right? No one is telling me anything. What is wrong?” The doctor asked her what her husband’s name was, and then said, “Mrs Jones, let me take you to him.”
As they walked a few yards to the one bedroom ward, the doctor explained to Mrs Jones that her husband was in a hit and run car accident and was still in a coma. He was strapped to a lot of medical machines and was in very critical condition.  “We honestly don’t know if he will make it through the night,” the doctor said. But she pleaded with him to let her see her husband and said, “Doctor, I hear what you are saying, but deep down inside of me, I have a promise and I know it is well.” As she turned into the room, there lay her husband with doctors and nurses around him. “Oh, my Peter, my dear Peter,” she said, as her hands clasped over her face in horror. She rushed to his bedside and pulled up a chair to his left hand side and sat beside him while the nurses did what they could for Peter. Ethel looked at her man, who had a breathing mask over his face and his eyes closed. Even though people where rushing around her, Ethel’s eyes never strayed off her husband of 52 years. She gently took hold of his hand and lifted it to her lips and tenderly kissed it, and then cradled it close to her chest. She leaned forward and said, “My Peter, I know you can hear me, I want you to know I love you. I have loved you since the first time we met. On our first date you picked some daisy flowers and made a daisy chain for me, and said that I was the most beautiful woman you had ever seen. You wore your jacket with one of the buttons missing and you walked me home right to up to front gate of my house. I remember you even grazed your hand off the gate post and I wrapped your hand up with my home made little scarf that I made for my baby doll and told you I always wanted to be a nurse. Peter, you are the most handsome man I have ever met and I love you with all my heart. Please don’t leave me; you made me a promise that you would never leave me. I love you Peter.”  And then she softly prayed, “Lord, I am so grateful that you gave me a gentleman like Peter, you love him LORD and so do I. And LORD, you promised me he would always be with me, and even now I still believe in that promise.” With those words Ethel laid her head upon Peter’s tummy and wept. The heart monitor to the left of her started to rise, unbeknown to Ethel, Peter’s eyes began to flicker, as his right hand slowly went up to his face to pull the face masked off. Just then the nurses noticed Peters hand moving up towards his face said, “Mr Jones you have got to keep the mask on.” There was now a flurry of activity around Peter’s bed from the Doctors. Suddenly, Ethel’s face lifted from her husband’s chest and looked up at her husband’s eyes that were looking straight down at her. She rushed up and kissed his cheek and heard him say, “Your love brought me back, I heard you calling out to me. Ethel, I promised you I would never leave you and I never will. I love you.”
Over the next few days, Peter went from strength to strength, and Ethel never left his side. Each day, she would come to the hospital and sit and pray over her husband, and read the Bible to him and sing songs of worship and praise to God. Peter lay on the bed smiling because he loved to hear his wife sing. One of the nurses who was on duty the day Peter first came into hospital walk into the room holding a tiny dolls scarf and said, “When we brought Peter in and put his personal belongs to one side, this fell out of his wallet.” Peter told the nurse what it was and how on their first date together Ethel wrapped it around his hand and he has carried it with him everyday for the last 54 years because it reminded him of the day he fell in love with most beautiful woman in the world.
After five days in hospital, the doctor, who had first spoken to Mr Jones, came to visit them and see how Peter was doing. He said, “Mr and Mrs Jones, I have to tell you something, when Peter first came in from the hit and run accident I did not hold out much hope for him. I have been a doctor now for 24 years and I’ve seen a lot of things in my time, but the speed in which you have recovered Peter, I can only say it must be a miracle.” Peter said, “Well, doctor, my wife and I both believe in miracles, because we both believe in God. Love brought me back, love never let me go and love healed me.” In time, Peter made a full recovery and thanked God for such a faithful wife who held onto a promise with everything she had, and even though it looked as if all hope was gone, she still believed in the promise from the LORD.
My friend, the love of the Lord will never let you go, His love will never give up on you and His love will heal you. One of the greatest gifts in life is to love and be loved in return. Even if things seem lost and hope is fading, believe in, and hold onto, the promise of God, for His love will always rescue you, His love will always heal you and His faithfulness to His promise is something you can always believe in. Just like the woman in our story, even when all hope seems like it is fading and it seems nothing is left for anyone to do, it is time to pray and hold onto the word of God and his promise for your life and say, like the woman in our text for today, from 2 Kings 4:26 (KJV), “And she answered, ‘It is well,’” and God will always be true to His promise and reward your faith.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. LOVE! this post! Thank you for sharing!

  2. p.s. I liked this so much I am posting a link to it on my facebook wall.
    God bless you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

