Posted by: peebles | February 24, 2012

Zechariah 8:8 (NIV) ~ I will bring them back to live in Jerusalem; they will be my people, and I will be faithful and righteous to them as their God.

“Here seems as good a spot as any,” I said out loud, with the sound of satisfaction in my voice. As I turned around and looked across Glencoe in Scotland, the majestic rugged mountains were lush with beauty beyond compare. I must have walked for about twenty minutes up one of the hills. All around me, the wild Scottish heather was in full bloom beneath my feet, near to the mountains in front of me with crystal clear stream below. Looking across the vast expanse of countryside right in front of me are the three mountains called the “Three Sisters of Glencoe”: Beinn Fhada, Gearr Aonach and Aonach Dubh. The hush of the wind gently blew, as it whispered in the valley, causing the grass to sway from side to side, as if singing with one voice the lullaby of romance.

These magnificent monuments rise majestically, shaped by the hand of God, and are a testimony to His greatness. If those mountains could talk, they would tell of history-changing moments and days of perfect peace. They would tell of the many clans and tartans of Scotland which were worn by many a brave man. They would tell of the wailing and thunderous sound of the bagpipes, and the roar of those who mustered under the banner, the flag of Kings, “The Lion rampant”. They would unlock secrets whispered into the ear of man, and loudest praise that would have echoed through the valley.

The water, which flows through the Glen, is untainted and clear; refreshing to drink and chilled by the natural resources hidden in the heart of the mountains. This place is not contaminated by the hand of man, nor is it shaped by his design, nor even drawn up by in the mind of a human architect, for none could even begin to ever dream of such beauty. The hand of God the Creator of Heaven and Earth, the Divine Architect made this. Its design was fashioned long ago by His perfect plan. In this place, before the God of all creation, I fell to my knees, and cried, “Lord, bring Scotland back to Thee again.”

This blessed nation of Scotland once sent missionaries to every corner of the globe, reaching countless nations for Christ, spreading revival near and far. From Scotland came such men as John Knox, The Covenanters, whose graves are scattered across the hills and glens of Scotland, Rev. John Brown, David Livingstone, and Rev. Peter Marshall, to name but a few. If truth were told, then let it be told with boldness, fearless in proclamation and passion, “God we need Thee now, more than ever!” My heart echoes with the very words, and passionate plea from the lips of the great Scottish reformer, John Knox, “Give me Scotland or I’ll die.”

From every corner, every hill and Glen, Lord bring Scotland back to You again.

Make us strong that we may earnestly pray our nation back to Thee,

Here I stand and call on Your name, God bring Scotland home again.

In our national anthem, is this heart-searching question from the first verse written by The Corries: Oh, flower of Scotland when will see, your likes again?

My friend, in our text for today, God has promised in Zechariah 8:8 (NIV),I will bring them back to live in Jerusalem; they will be my people, and I will be faithful and righteous to them as their God.” He will bring them back to live in Jerusalem, the house of bread, the house of blessing. Therefore, if we want God to bring Scotland back we must be prepared to not only pay the price, but also pray the price for revival. The Bible gives us the conditions for a revival, not only in Scotland, but for every nation under heaven, from 2 Chronicles 7:14 to 15, “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land. Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayers offered in this place.”

Lord, as we fall on our knees before you and repent with a humble heart, and call out to You for our nation, “Please Lord, heal our land and send revival. From every corner, every hill and Glen, Lord bring Scotland back to You again. Bring not just Scotland, but every nation back to You again, Thank you Lord.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

