Posted by: peebles | February 13, 2012

Isaiah 64:8 (NIV) ~ Yet, O LORD, you are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.

I once heard a great preacher say, “Only melted gold is minted.” He then went on to explain what he meant by it. He told me that gold can look good, but when, and only when it has gone through the refining fire, it becomes minted gold. The preacher went on to say, “Every time the gold is melted down, the goldsmith removes the rubbish that comes to the surface, by skimming it off. This process is done over and over again until the gold is purified.” It is at this point that it can be minted – moulded into something useful.

In an Art Gallery in New York, there was this beautiful figure on display, carved out of stone. Someone who was looking at it said to the Sculptor, “How did you get something so beautiful out of a lump of stone?” The Sculptor replied, “It was always there, I just took away the rough edges.” It got me thinking about what the Bible says in John 15:1 to 2 (NIV), ”I am the true vine,” says Jesus, “my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.” I have to admit that the pruning process can be a bit sore at times. However, any good gardener, worth their salt, will tell you it is for the best, so it will make you even more fruitful. Even though at times we don’t want to be pruned, nor do we like it, for it can be bit painful. However, it is for the best for you to be minted gold for the Kingdom of God.

Our text for today says in Isaiah 64:8 (NIV), “Yet, O Lord, you are my Father. We are the clay, you are the potter, we are all the work of your hands.” Furthermore, the Bible says in Romans 9:21 (NIV), “Does not the potter have to right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?”  We all have different ministries and we all have a different purpose in how to serve God with the best that He has given us. But ultimately, we all have the same goal: to serve God with everything we have and win souls for the Kingdom of God. The Bible says in Ephesians 2:10 (NIV), “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God has prepared in advance for us all do.” Every one of us has something special to do for God; a work that he has prepared in advance for each and every one for us.

The Bible says in Jeremiah 18: 4 (NIV), “The potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best for him.” God has the right to shape and mould us in what is best for his Kingdom; to chip away the rough edges, so that which is beautiful inside, can come out, to prune us, so that we will be even more fruitful for Jesus, to put us through the refiner’s fire, so we can become minted gold.

There is a wonderful song written by Darlene Zschech, called, “The Potter’s Hand,” with these beautiful lyrics:

Beautiful Lord, wonderful Saviour, I know for sure all of my days are,

Held in Your hand, grafted into Your perfect plan.

You gently call me into Your presence, guiding me by Your Holy Spirit,

Teach me dear Lord, to live all of my life through Your eyes.

I’m captured by Your holy calling, set me apart,

I know drawing me to Yourself, Lead my Lord I pray,

Take me, mould me, use me, fill me, I give my life to Potter’s hands.

Hold me, guide me, lead me, walk beside me, I give my life to the Potter’s hands.

My friend, today may we allow the Master’s hand to do his work in our lives. Today, may we experience times of refreshing as we allow Jesus our Master, to mould us, shaped us and cleanse us through the Refiner’s fire, so we may become minted gold for Jesus Christ and the Kingdom of God.

God bless you my friend, Matthew


Leave a Reply

Categories

