Posted by: peebles | December 20, 2011

Matthew 1:23 (KJV), “And they shall call his name Immanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.”

Immanuel, God with us. The enormity of this verse overwhelms me, just to think on this, “The God of heaven living in me.” God with us, God in us, we carry His domain wherever we go.

The Bible says in Isaiah 7:14 (NIV) Therefore, the LORD himself will give you a sign: The virgin will be with child and give birth to a son, and you will call him Immanuel.

Bob Mc Ghee wrote these powerful words about Jesus Christ our Immanuel:

Emmanuel, Emmanuel, We call His name Emmanuel,

God with us, revealed in us, His name is called Emmanuel.

My friend, there is such comfort, in this verse. Immanuel, God with us, God in us, the God of heaven living in me. I now have His strength in me to help me in my every day life, His rest in me to give me peace in Him, His power in me, to be all that He has called me to be, His mercy, His grace, His bounty, His favour, His tender loving-kindness towards me, and His mighty arm out-stretched to give me victory in whatever area I need it. If God be for us, then who can stand against us? Jesus Christ is our Immanuel.

Oh, how glorious does the hymn writer Charles Wesley pen these Holy Spirit inspired lyrics from the song, “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”:

Christ by highest heaven adored, Christ the everlasting Lord!

Late in time behold Him come offspring of a Virgin’s womb,

Veiled in the flesh the Godhead see, Hail the Incarnate Deity,

Pleased as man with men to dwell, Jesus, our Immanuel.

Today will you let the God of heaven dwell in your heart and life, as “Immanuel, God with you” Jesus Christ the Saviour of your soul, living in you?

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

