Posted by: peebles | December 12, 2011

Psalm 20:4 (NIV) ~ May he give you the desire of your heart and make (all your dreams) all your plans succeed.

It was a mid-summer’s evening as I walked towards the edge of the pier. It is just an old pier where as a very young boy I used to sit with my feet dangling over the last beams of wood while holding a branch from a tree no bigger than myself with a bit of thin string attached to it. On the end of it was a little bit of Lego and further down the line, an old safety pin, just like the one you would use to hold a baby’s nappy together. It was the most perfect fishing line you have ever seen. 

All summer long, I would go down there every day and I would cast my line into the sea but, I never caught a single fish, not even one bite. For me, this was the best place in the world to be, to just watch the waves toss to and fro, to hear the peaceful sound of the sea and watch the sun sparkle like a million diamonds reflected off the waters below my feet. 

Now, many years later, those things which I once dreamed of as a young boy with a head full of wishful, wonderful dreams, dreams so great that only through God could they ever come true, are about to happen.  Over the years, I have faced many hardships and difficulties, many tears have been shed mixed with a bitter cup of personal betrayal and broken wings and many more hurts and pains which I dare not recount. Yet, through all the pain and suffering there have been great times of peace, laughter, happiness and joy, there have been times of refreshing, times of extravagant praise and glorious victory. Through every season God has been faithful to me, His constant words of comfort, strength, encouragement and reassurance have been an anchor to my soul. 

Edwin Markham once said, “Great it is to dream your dream when you stand in youth by the starry stream, but a great thing is to fight life through and to say at the end, the dream came true.” At this pier as a young boy I once had dreams of being married to a woman who was so in love with me and me with her. I can even recall looking across the sea, dreaming that she lived across the ocean. This woman would not just be my wife but, my best friend. Oh, to dream wishful dreams, and have a hope so pure, a purpose so heavenly to serve God when you are young.  All through life, you hold tightly to the dream and never let it die but, keep it alive inside your heart, this dream just between you and God. 

Many years have passed with me trying to fit in with my peers. At times it felt like I was a square peg trying to fit into a round hole. No matter how hard I tried I just did not fit in and all it brought was frustration and a dreadful feeling of being lonely. Yet, when the right picture comes along, life is no longer a struggle; you don’t have to walk around like you are walking on egg shells because you fit perfectly into place. Sometimes in life, things may seem right to do at the time, but many years later it turns out to be the wrong peg in the wrong place. Love can make you so blind and you may overlook the truth, and sadly you may be the last one to see it. However, God is a God of plan and purpose and when all you have left is God you have everything you need to start again, for He is the God of a new hope. 

This evening as I am sitting here at the end of the pier with the sound of the sea all around me as the tide gently rolls. My heart is filled with an overwhelming gratitude to God for being so kind to me, so tender-loving and faithful. God heard my silent cry and saw the dreams in my heart which I held onto over the years, those dreams that began as a young boy all those years ago with my feet dangling over the last beams of wood at the end of an old pier. God has answered my dreams, my deepest longings and my heart’s desire. 

A new chapter in my life is about to begin, a new hope is about to be embraced and my dream is about to be born into reality. As I sat all those years ago singing to myself as I dreamed my dreams, “My bonnie lies over the ocean, my bonnie lies over the sea, my bonnie lies over the ocean, bring back my bonnie to me to me,” with a smile on my face and a heart full of cheer, little did I know it would be the title to one my biggest dream in my life, a dream that only God could bring to pass. Oh, how glorious does the Scripture ring true from Psalm 37:4 (NIV), “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart,” and it is confirmed in Psalm 20:4 (NIV), “May he give you the desire of your heart and make (all your dreams) all your plans succeed.” Never stop believing and never stop dreaming, for God has the power make all your dreams come true as you put your trust in Him. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew

 


Responses

  1. Congratulations, Matthew!!! Also, I love reading these posts of yours. I dont have a wordpress so I never comment, but I just wanted you to know that God is using you! I read your blogs regularly & God really speaks to me through your writing! Thanks for listening to Him & writing what He tells you to write 🙂 I’m so happy to read today’s blog & to always here the good things the Lord has done for you & the good things He desires to do for all of us! Thank you for always encouraging your brothers & sisters in Christ! God sees you 🙂 May God continue to bless you & keep you! Congratulations again! Take care! God bless YOU, my friend! -lyapa


Leave a Reply

Categories

