Posted by: peebles | November 29, 2011

Mark 8:34 (KJV) whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

When I first read this verse of Scripture I had this thought; maybe I should make a big wooden cross and carry it around with me everywhere I go, however when I read it once again it became alive inside of me.

First of all I see that the Christian walk is one of self-denial, it is one of putting Jesus first in everything. It is one of putting aside selfish ambition, selfish gain, and living a Christ centered, purpose driven lifestyle.

Secondly, I also noticed Jesus said, “Take up his cross”. Not a wooden cross, the same size as the one on which Jesus was crucified upon the hill of Calvary. But your own cross, a cross of giving yourself to God daily, of seeking his will daily and saying to the world, “I am not ashamed of the gospel; I am not ashamed to be a follower of Jesus.”

To take up your cross, requires something from you. It’s a calling from God to serve. He is passing onto you the baton, the message from the great King, the flame of the Holy Spirit to carry for him. To take up your cross is not something that you should treat lightly. Many people before you have take up this challenged, only to lay it down again, as the weight of carrying such a cross was too much too bear. The cost of the calling was too high. However, although it may cost me everything, I gladly take up my cross daily for Jesus.

Then thirdly follow me, do as Jesus did, live as he lived. To follow Jesus, to live for him, to do the things he did.  Even at the very thought of it, it fills me with such an excitement, such a passion for the things of his Kingdom.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. When I was so lost in sin God saved me and called me to follow Jesus. I am so grateful to God who has now made me qualified to share in the inheritance of the saints of God, to be qualified to share in His mercy, love and grace. To follow in the footsteps of Jesus, and do his works here on earth. To feed the poor, to meet the needs of a world on the doors steps of the church crying out for help, to fight the good fight of faith, then when it is all done receive my coronation in my heavenly home seated at His table.

My friend as our text for today says in Mark 8:34 (KJV) whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. For this cause I willingly, each and every day deny myself, take up my cross, and follow Jesus.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. In thinking about this verse and your post, it makes me realize all the “crosses” that I have in my life. When I think of the scripture that reads take up your cross..it makes me think of the worldly things that are so tempting to me but that I need to pin to the cross and carry the struggle to stay away from. When I think of carrying a cross I think of carrying around something huge, heavy, pain inflicting..and in my life those things are the “fleshly desires” I must chose to ASK GOD to help me (I’ve been trying to do it on my own far too long and have experienced epic fail after epic fail for it is ONLY through my JESUS that I can be even a tad bit good). Carrying my cross to me means doing things that I REALLY don’t want to do but that I know Jesus wants me to..like letting a car ahead of our car when I am running late…things like that that matter because it is growing my Christian Character. I love this blog entry! It really makes me dig deep and think about what carrying my cross means..I think that I should consider this cross often. Thank you Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

