Posted by: peebles | November 11, 2011

Psalm 84:1 to 2 (NIV) How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out or the living God.

The romance of these verses of Scripture charms my heart, how sweetly does the lullaby of love sing each note in perfect harmony. The tranquillity of them stills my soul. Oh how beautiful are your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty.

Can you hear in the words of this Psalm the adoration of the writer, as he pours out his desire like an offering upon the alter of worship? How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out or the living God.

It is a place of perfect peace, pardon and power. Sighing from the depths of his soul, lost in wonder, lost in love, lost in praise forevermore. David tries within the limitations of words alone to express his longing to be in the dwelling place of the LORD. His soul yearns, even faints for the courts of the LORD. To the point where even his heart and flesh cry out for the living God. Every beat of his heart, beats with a heavenly longing to be in the dwelling place of the LORD.

His heart cries out with everything within him, “I love being in Your dwelling place.” Here is a deep longing expressed in mere words, for his desire to be in the Presence of the Lord goes far deeper, emotionally, physically and spiritually, much more than tongue could tell. It is a yearning, a groaning from everything within him, “LORD I am desperate for You, for Your dwelling place.”

My toes but dips in your living waters, as it sends the freshening feeling and healing which it brings from Your Presence, flowing through my whole spirit, body and soul. Yet my soul wants more, oh how lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.

I want to be soaked in Your living waters, lost in the depths of His oceans, submerged with the deep things of God, and soaring in new heights on the wings of a heavenly Cherubim.

My friend, how much do you long to be in the dwelling place of the LORD? Is He the very air that you breathe? Is His dwelling place the longing for your heart’s desire? As the deer pants for the water, does your soul long for the LORD in the same way?

To be in His Presence, not rushing away,

To cherish each moment, here I would stay,

This is my desire, O Lord, this is my desire.

To be in Your dwelling place, is to be where my heart finds its true home. It is where my heart belongs, it is where the natural is put aside to embrace the supernatural. The temporary things of this world fades away like the grass of the field, it rolls up like a blanket, to make way for the courts of the living, eternal, powerful, Almighty God.

His dwelling place is a shelter, a strong tower, a place of solace, a place where He lifts us up where we belong, in the heavenly courts of the LORD. It is a place of healing, of wholeness and peace. It is place where my souls aches and longs to be in. To embrace His Presence with the kiss of love from my heart. I forsake all others, I turn away for anything which would hinder me from being in Your dwelling place. For it is from there, I can receive from You, to share freely with others, Your mercy grace and tender loving-kindness.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

