Posted by: peebles | November 3, 2011

Joshua 14:12 (KJV) Now therefore give me this mountain.

Mountains can come in many shapes and forms. However, many people have tried to climb a mountain and have stopped at the foot of it and said, “This is too hard to even try.” They have been defeated before they have even begun. Their fear of failure has held them back, so the mountain in their mind gets bigger than is actually is. In our text for today, Caleb, although he was 85 years young, he still had a strong desire to conquer, a strong desire to win and enjoy the satisfaction of walking in the victory of being an over-comer. He never let any mountain stand in his way or prevent him from going forward in God. No enemy was going to keep him from entering into the promises of God.

Mountains are there to be conquered. The Bible says in Zechariah 4:7 (NIV), “What are you, mighty mountain? Before Zerubbabel you will become level ground.” In other words, you will be conquered; you will not stand in the way of any man or woman who wants to go forward in God. Caleb could say with confidence, because of his faith in God, in Joshua 14:12 (KJV), “Now therefore give me this mountain. For I will surely conquer it.”

Caleb never looked at the size of the mountain, but he looked at how big God was before the mountain. He knew with God all things are possible, and under the anointing of the Holy Spirit it will become as level ground before him. When David went out to fight Goliath I am sure all the Israelites who stood before Goliath said, “He is too big to fight, he is as tall as a mountain.” While David said, “He is too big to miss, this day he will fall before me.” David and Caleb had a different spirit than those who saw an object as a mountain, while Caleb and David saw mountains as opportunities for God show Himself strong on their behalf, and for them climb their mountain and overcome it in His strength.

No mountain of lack will stand before me, for He is my Jehovah Jireh, my provider.

No mountain of sickness will stand before me, for He is my Jehovah Rophedh, my healer.

No mountain of inadequacy will stand before me, for I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

My friend, what mountain stands before you today? What mountain of the enemy tries to taunt you just as Goliath taunted David? What mountain tries to stop you entering into the promises of God? Rise up like David and slay the giant, take courage and draw strength from God like Caleb, who had a different spirit in him and took possession of the promises of God, and tell your mountain it will become level ground under the anointing of the Spirit of God, like Zerubbabel. Stand tall and declare with a roar of victory as Caleb did from Joshua 14:12 (KJV), “Now therefore give me this mountain. For in His strength I will surely conquer it, in Jesus’ mighty name!”

God bless you friend in Jesus, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

