Posted by: peebles | November 2, 2011

2 Corinthians 7:4 (NIV) ~ I have great confidence in you; I take great pride in you.

Allow me, for just a moment, to draw a picture for you with words. Imagine the apostle Paul walking up to you, stopping in front of you and then putting both his hand on your shoulders, looking at you, smiling, and then your hear him say to you, “I believe in you, I am just so proud of you.” How do you think that would make you feel?

I have a son who is at an age where he is still learning the truth and meaning of certain words, yet, he understands when I look at him, with my arms on his shoulders and say, “Daddy loves you, I believe in you, Daddy is just so proud of you.” As my son grows up I hope that one day, he will be proud of his daddy.

Now let me give this Scripture a more personal meaning for you. Your Father in heaven, your Daddy, loves you. He has great confidence in you. God believes in you! Today, may you feel His arms upon your life as He encourages you, and builds you up with these words from the heart of a loving Father to His child, “I have great confidence in you and I am proud of you.”

Here is a sad truth; many people will go through life longing to hear their parents say those words to them, but will never hear them. They long to hear them say, “I love you, I believe in you and I am so proud of you,” but never hear it. If you are reading this today and you can identify with what has just been written, then let’s look to our text from today in 2 Corinthians 7:4 (NIV) one more time, “I have great confidence in you; I take great pride in you.” Know this, God believes in you, God loves you and God takes great pride in you. Your heavenly Father is just so proud of you.

My friend, this kind of pride is in no way associated with arrogance, nor is it labelled with a haughty spirit, but it is one where you take a deep breath, with great satisfaction, and are really pleased with the person you are talking about. You believe in them, you are proud of their achievements, their lifestyle and their attitude. One day when our work on Earth is done, we will stand before the God of all the ages, who will say to those who have given their lives to follow and serve Jesus with all their hearts, “Well done, my good and faithful servant, enter into the joy of the Lord.” Do you think God will just pass us but a fleeting glance? No! He will look straight at us, and say, “I am so proud of you for your achievements. I always believed you could do it; I had great confidence in you, well done. I love you.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

