Posted by: peebles | October 25, 2011

Song of Songs 2:14 (KJV) O my dove, that art in the clefts of the rock.

The Rock of Ages is where you go to in your time of need. He is all you will ever need, to help you through whatever you may face. The Bible also says in Isaiah 26:4 (Darby) Confide ye in Jehovah forever; for in Jehovah, is the rock of ages. Trust in the Lord commit yourself to Him, lean on Him, hope confidently in Him forever; for the Lord God is an everlasting Rock, the Rock of Ages.

I recently watched a TV programme about birds of prey. This large bird of prey, was chasing this little bird in order to devour it. However the little bird, flew for its life darting here and there while being pursued by the menacing big of prey. The little bird, then flew into a craven in the rock face. The large bird gave up, as the little bird found shelter in the rock, out of reach from the fearsome claws of the enemy.

It was while I was watching the programme, that this old gospel song came to me with these wonderful lyrics, written by A M Toplady (1740-78) called, ‘Rock of Ages, cleft for me.’
Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in Thee.

Let the water and the blood from Thy riven side which flowed,

Be of sin the double cure save me from its guilt and  power.

I could picture in my mind, a time when I are being pursued be the enemy of my soul with his claws out in a menacing fashion trying to devour me. But with all the might that I could muster I ran to Jesus Christ and there I found safety and security in my Rock of Ages.

My friend, the Bible says in Psalm 18:2 (NIV) The LORD is my rock; my fortress and my deliverer. My God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. Jesus is your strong tower and your strength. When you call out to the Lord you are saved from your enemies. The Bible says in Exodus 33 :22 (NIV) I will put you in a cleft in the rock. This is where God placed Moses, as he passed by in his glory. Where is the only true place that you will experience the glory of God? It is when your life is hidden in the Rock, Christ Jesus Himself.

Let the Rock of Ages be for you today a strong tower, a shelter, a fortress. Let Jesus be unto you, your deliverer, let Him be your Rock in whom you take refuge. A safe place where you will find security, safety, peace and the presence of God.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

