Posted by: peebles | October 14, 2011

2 Samuel 22:20 (NIV) ~ He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.

Here David freely gives an awesome testimony about the faithfulness of the Lord and tell the reader of how much the Lord has done for him. David says of the Lord at the beginning of both 2 Samuel 22 and Psalm 18, “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation. He is my stronghold, my refuge and my Saviour.”

When David was up against the Philistine giant Goliath, he put his faith in the Lord and in Him alone and he was victorious. When he felt trapped and enclosed by the enemy, David cried out to the Lord, and the Lord delivered him. When he felt hemmed in, when felt as though his back was up against a wall, David called out the Lord and He brought the breakthrough and rescued him from all his troubles. The Lord was an ever-present help in trouble to David. The Lord lifted him from the mire and set his feet upon a rock and give him a firm place to stand, the Lord put a new song in his heart, a hymn of praise to his God.

When it feels like you are up against a giant, or you feel as if you are trapped, or even hemmed in by the enemy of your soul, then call out to the Lord, for He will surely rescue you! He will not only rescue you but give you the victory and bring you into a spacious place were you can breathe easy once more.

The Lord does all this and much more for you. “Why does the Lord do those things for me?” I hear you ask. Because He delights in you and loves you so much. The Lord your God wants you to know He is mighty to save and strong to deliver. He wants to reveal His glory to you, by being your support, by being your strong tower, and by being your fortress in times of trouble.

My friend, the Lord delights in you. He wants to show you, time and time again, His ability to rescue you in your times of trouble, and bring you into a spacious place, where you will know His peace, His protection, His provision and His power. Put your trust in the Lord and cry out to Him, for He will rescue you. Run to Him, for He is your strong tower, your refuge, and your shield, your peace, your protection, your provision and your power to walk in victory over every giant that dare stands before you. The Lord will lift you up and put a new song in your heart to sing because of His faithfulness and goodness over your life, a hymn of praise to your God.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

