Posted by: peebles | September 13, 2011

Psalm 118:14 (NIV) ~ The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.

Some time ago, a work colleague asked me, “So Matthew, what is your song, everyone has a song?” I replied, “He is my song,” to which I was given this look of confusion, “What do you mean, He is my song, who sings that song? I have never heard of that song before, how does is go again? What’s the tune? Can you sing a few of the lyrics for me?” So with my best singing voice, which is none at all, I began to sing Psalm 118:14 (NIV), “The LORD is my strength and my song; and He has become my salvation. He is my God.”

The Bible says in Psalm 40:2 to 3 (NIV), “He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.” On nine separate occasions in the Bible these words can be found, “a new song,” and seven times, “my song.”

What is my song and who is my song about? Well, let me sum it all up in just one word, “Jesus.” He is my song! He lifted my up from the pit; He put a new song within my heart, a hymn of praise to my God. Oh, how I love to sing my song unto Him; my song of worship and praise to Jesus.

My friend, what is your song? Do you go about life without direction, not knowing what to do, or where to go? Does your song echo the words of the rock group U2, “I still haven’t found what I’m looking for”? Then look no further, search no more, for you will find all that you will ever need in Jesus. When you give your life to Jesus Christ, from inside of you will rise this new song. It is a song of worship, thanksgiving and praise. It is a song that the angels long to sing, but never will. It is the song of the redeemed, those whom Jesus Christ has brought by His precious blood.

Today is the day of His favour, today is the day of salvation. Today can be the day for God to put a new song in your heart so you may sing as David sang from Psalm 118:14 (NIV), “The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew


Leave a Reply

Categories

