Posted by: peebles | August 16, 2011

Psalm 25:7 (NIV) ~ Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O LORD.

Every one of us has sinned at one time or another. For me, personally, I can have split-second flashbacks to memories I would rather forget. I could be just talking about something in all innocence, when an unpleasant memory will come to mind. It is almost as if someone is trying to take me on a guilt trip. Have you ever had this thought: “Remember when you did this or that, how can God forgive you, what you did was bad”? Those are the times when I remember His promise to me from Romans 8:1 (KJV), “There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus….” Thank you Jesus, all my past sins are washed clean away! The Bible even says in Isaiah 43:25 (Amplified Bible), “I, even I, am He Who blots out and cancels your transgressions, for My own sake, and I will not remember your sins.”

God is a God who heals our memories. No more shall the past pain of our sin overshadow us – it has been taken away. No longer do we carry the weight of the guilt and shame of our sin with us, it has been taken away. We cannot change our past, what we said or did, but we can change where we go now. God can heal the painful memories of our sins; the sins of our youth and our rebellious ways. Someone once told me, “Matthew, before you became a Christian, the devil stood all over you, but now, Jesus is enthroned in your heart. As you follow Him and delight in Him, and as you serve Him, little by little the footprints which were left from your previous way of life, will eventually fade away as you wholeheartedly follow in the footsteps of Jesus. God will heal your memories and wipe your past way. For He who is in Christ Jesus is a new creation.”

My friend, let God heal your memories. Know that God is a God of love, who forgives and does not remember the sins of your youth and your rebellious ways. Jesus has washed them all away. Let His peace rule your heart and mind in Christ Jesus. In Jesus, there is joy and peace; there is forgiveness and healing, not condemnation or guilt trips. God loves you, and wants you to move on with a clear conscience. The Apostle Paul had more reasons than anyone to cringe with embarrassment and shame because of his lifestyle before he became a Christian, but he accepted, by faith, God’s forgiveness and moved on. The Bible says in Philippians 3:13 to 14 (NIV), “But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Whenever guilt trips try to trip you up, or painful memories come flooding back to you, take, by faith, the word of God from 1 John 1:7 (KJV), “The blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanseth us from all sin.” Thank you God, in you I have a pardon for my past, all my sins are forgiven and they no longer have any hold on me and I am free from it all.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

