Posted by: peebles | February 17, 2011

Psalm 38:22 (NIV) ~ Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Saviour.

Not once, but five times, within the book of Psalms you can hear David say this exact phrase, “Come quickly to help me.” Not to mention how many times David cries out to God, “Come to me.” It is a personal plea for God to intervene, for Him move without delay, for Him to be stirred into action immediately. Just eight chapters later, David starts off Psalm 46:1 (NIV), “God is refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” An ever-present help, meaning God hears the cry of His children and is right there to help.

God can hear the cry of your heart when your soul cries out without making an audible sound. So, how much more will He who hears your cry respond when you are on your knees in prayer, crying out in the anguish of your heart, “Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Saviour.” He is not slow in acting on your behalf, for He is ever-present to help you.

Whenever you are in need or are at a point in your life where you need God to intervene quickly, or to help you, or even deliver you, He will never let you down. Only two chapters later you can hear within the tone and wording from Psalm 40 how God comes to David in response to his cry from Psalm 38:22 (NIV), “Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Saviour.” Everything has turned around and David gives God all the glory for a mighty deliverance, for coming quickly to help him. The Bible says in Psalm 40:1 to 3 (NIV), “I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.”My friend, whatever situation may befall you, whatever circumstance you may find yourself in, whatever trouble may come near your tent, or whatever unexpected situation may come crashing against your boat, turn to God in prayer, cry out to the Everlasting God, to one who delivered David and set his feet upon a Rock and placed a new song in his heart and lifted him from the pits and He will do the same for you. Call upon your LORD and Saviour, turn to Him who will move suddenly for you to deliver you and answer your prayers, for He will surely come quickly to help you.

God bless you my friend, Matthew


Responses

  1. Thank you brother Matthew for the powerful word today. Come quickly to help me oh Lord according to Your word to me today.
    Amen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

