Posted by: peebles | February 15, 2011

Psalm 84:5 (NIV) ~ Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.

Psalm 84:5 (NIV) ~ Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.

The Pilgrim’s Progress from ‘This World to That Which Is to Come,’ is a Christian allegory written by John Bunyan and published in February 1678. It is regarded as one of the most significant works of English literature, and has been translated into more than 200 languages, and has never been out of print.

In your pilgrim’s progress you travel along life’s journey from here to glory. Your aim is to take the gospel along every main road, side way and lane. You set your heart on evangelism; your pilgrimage is towards your Celestial City in heaven, your Beulah land. The modern day pilgrim has a message to carry, of the utmost importance, with great urgency.

I love the old hymn which sums up this amazing truth from Psalm 84:5, written by William Williams:

Guide me, O thou great Jehovah, pilgrim through this barren land.
I am weak, but thou art mighty; hold me with thy powerful hand.
Bread of heaven, bread of heaven, feed me till I want no more;
Feed me till I want no more.

Open now the crystal fountain, whence the healing stream doth flow;
Let the fire and cloudy pillar, lead me all my journey through.
Strong deliverer, strong deliverer, be thou still my strength and shield;
Be thou still my strength and shield.

When I tread the verge of Jordan, bid my anxious fears subside;
Death of death and hell’s destruction, land me safe on Canaan’s side.
Songs of praises, songs of praises, I will ever give to thee;
I will ever give to thee.

Saviour, come! We long to see Thee, long to dwell with Thee above,

And to know in full communion, all the sweetness of Thy love.

Come Lord Jesus! Take Thy waiting people home.

My friend, just as the writer of Psalm 25 set his heart on pilgrimage he did not rely on the arm of flesh, but put his trust in the Lord. His strength was in God and Him alone. He may have faced hardship, trials and times of testing, yet his anchor was sure and steadfast, grounded in God’s love. It is a privilege to be a messenger of the King, to be entrusted with His words, to be a pilgrim in a land which needs to hear the words of the King, who is mighty to save. Pilgrims were people who loved to be close to God, who wanted to be holy like their God. They wanted to spread His word so lost souls could be saved. May you place this verse over your heart, so it beats with a passion to serve Jesus in your daily pilgrimage, always taking God’s word everywhere you go, in His strength and by His power through His love. May the Lord, help you set your hearts on the things of His Kingdom as you travel on the King’s highway with His message. May it be said of you, as it was said of the writer of Psalm 84:5 (NIV), “Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.”

 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.

 


Responses

  1. Oh what a word!! You’ve rain on my soul. Today’s word to me is like me blessing the whole of Ghana. Am feeling like its rain heavely on me. God loves you.
    E. T.
    Ghana, W/A.


Leave a Reply

Categories

