Posted by: peebles | February 3, 2011

2 Timothy 4:8 (NIV) ~ Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day.

So many people have a fear of dying, of not knowing what they may face. Some are very scared because their time has come and they don’t know if they will ever see their loved ones again. In Christ Jesus you have the hope of glory, a place where Jesus has gone on before you to prepare for you; it’s a wonderful place to be in His Father’s house. The Christian need not fear death for Jesus has conquered death. Jesus said in John 11:25 to 26 (NIV), “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.”

There is the joy in knowing you will soon be with those who have gone on before you, loved ones who have given their lives to Jesus, who have loved the Lord with all their heart. Those who have put their trust in Jesus will one close their eyes and breathe their last breath in this world, then open their eyes and breathe their first breath in heaven.

The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 15:54 to 58 (NIV), “When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: ‘Death has been swallowed up in victory.’ ‘Where, O death is your victory? Where, O death is your sting?’ The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.” Not only is there a victory to be gained, but a crowning before the Lord as your reward. As our text for today says in 2 Timothy 4:8 (NIV),Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day.”

There is the classic story about a man of God called D. L. Moody who once said, “Someday you will read in the papers that D.L. Moody of Northfield is dead. Don’t you believe a word of it. At that moment I shall be more alive than I am now. I shall have gone higher, that is all out of this old clay tenement into a house that is immortal, a body that sin cannot touch, that sin cannot taint, a body fashioned into His glorious body. I was born in the flesh in 1837; I was born of the Spirit in 1856. That which is born of the flesh may die; that which is born of the Spirit will live forever.”

A few hours before entering the Heaven, D.L. Moody caught a glimpse of the glory awaiting him. Awakening from sleep, he said, “Earth recedes. Heaven opens before me. If this is death, it is sweet! There is no valley here. God is calling me, and I must go.” His son was standing by his bedside and said, “No, no, father, you are dreaming.” “No,” said Mr. Moody, “I am not dreaming. I have been within the gates. I have seen the children’s faces.” A short time elapsed and he spoke again, “This is my triumph; this is my coronation day! It is glorious!”

My friend, one day your time will come to pass from this life to the next, the question is do you know where you are going?  Can you say like the Apostle Paul from our text in 2 Timothy 4:8 (NIV), Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day”? Or, even like D. L. Moody, “Here is my coronation day, Jesus I am ready to meet you face to face.”

Today, right now, maybe it is time to get right with God so when your time comes you will be ready to meet the LORD as your Saviour and King who will say to you, “Well done my faithful servant, enter into the joy of the Lord,” rather than say, “Depart from me I never knew you.” I hope and pray for you it is the former rather than the latter.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

