Posted by: peebles | January 19, 2011

Luke 9:61 (KJV) ~ And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house.

Luke 9:61 (KJV) ~ And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house. 

Here lies the excuse of many a sinner, “Lord, I will follow you, but….”

I will surrender all to you, my precious Saviour, but first let me do this or that.

I will give my heart to you and yield my life to you, but let me do my own thing first.

I will follow you, but let me first go back and have a farewell party before I come. 

Twice in Luke chapter nine the invitation is given to follow the Lord, and it is met with a negative response with the word “but.” You see, the things of this world can hinder us from making a life-changing decision to follow Jesus. However, Jesus, in gentleness, gives a warning to the people who fill their lips with an excuse by using the word “but.” The Bible says in Luke 9:62 (KJV), “And Jesus said unto him, ‘No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.’” 

As the old saying goes, “rams will always “but”. Sheep will always follow.”

Which category do you fall into? 

My friend, the Bible says in Hebrews 3:15 (KJV), “While it is said, ‘Today’ if ye will hear his voice, harden not your hearts.” When you hear the Master’s voice saying unto you, “Follow me,” let it not be met with a “but”.  Rather, may it be met with a, “Yes Lord, I will follow you right now.” 

Bid my beating heart peace, and my trembling soul rest,

Let them be found in the place which is best,

Safe within the Master’s hands,  

As I willingly say, “Yes,”

To take Him at His invitation,

To follow Him, by His precious request,

To serve and worship Him here,

Then evermore in Beulah Land. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

