Posted by: peebles | January 10, 2011

1 Samuel 17:2 (NIV) ~ Saul and the Israelites assembled and camped in the Valley of Elah and drew up their battle line to meet the Philistines.

1 Samuel 17:2 (NIV) ~ Saul and the Israelites assembled and camped in the Valley of Elah and drew up their battle line to meet the Philistines.

Ancient Spartan soldiers were said to have drawn a “line in the sand” during their defence of Greece in the Battle of Thermopylae. The phrase is also attributed to Colonel William Travis, commander of the Alamo defence forces. On February 23TH in 1836, the Alamo was surrounded by Mexican General Santa Anna, a messenger bearing a letter of surrender was sent from Santa Anna to Travis. Colonel Travis called all the Alamo defenders together and read the letter of surrender. Legend indicates Colonel Travis then pulled his battle sword, drew a line in the sand of the Alamo, and asked for volunteers to cross over the line and join him. All but 1 of the 200+ defenders (including Jim Bowie and Davy Crockett) joined Travis on his side of the line. Travis then responded to Santa Anna’s letter with cannon fire.

To draw a line in the sand is not a note of defeat, but a declaration of intent, to stand up for what is right no matter what it may cost you. Drawing a line in the sand says to the enemy, “You shall not pass!” and “I am ready, willing and able to fight for my cause. I will stand up against injustice, and take my stand against whatever may stand against the will of God.” This line which I draw today is saying to the world, “I will not compromise my integrity, I will not go quietly into the night, I will not stay silent, but I will rise up, I will be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.” I will draw a line in the sand and say to the enemy, “No more shall you steal my joy, no more will you destroy my harvest, no more will you rob me of financial blessings, no more will you stop me from growing in God, no more will you stop my church from growing, or souls from being saved. I am a soul winner in Jesus, I am a mighty child of the living God and I will be successful in all that God has entrusted unto me to do for Him and His Kingdom.”

My friend in our text for today the Bible says in 1 Samuel 17:2 (NIV), “Saul and the Israelites assembled and camped in the Valley of Elah and drew up their battle line to meet the Philistines”.

You can just imagine the line in the sand being drawn for battle, but then, in stepped a boy called David who loved God, who dared to take his stand and said to the enemy Goliath, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the LORD will hand you over to me, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. Today I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel.”

This day may we all take that same stand of faith, may we draw that line in the sand and say, “No more will I be afraid to face the giants that stand before me who try to stop me from enjoying the blessings of God, but I will rise up, I will be strong in the Lord and through my God I will win the day, I will conquer and be victorious in Christ Jesus.”

Some of us have to draw a line over the way we handle our finances and learn to be wise stewards with God’s money. Some of us have to draw a line in the sand of how we spend our time. Do we worship the TV, or devote our time to worshipping God? Can we draw a line over past disappointments and move on with our lives, instead of revisiting them and letting ourselves be condemned by our past experiences? It is time to draw the line in the sand over them and say, “Devil, I refuse to let my past condemn me, I am forgiven in Jesus. For God says in His word, ‘There is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.’” God loves you and wants to bless you with His best for your life, your family and for your church.

My line in the sand is not one of defeat, but rather one of victory, for with every step I take forward in Jesus my line will go forward, advancing against the tide of the enemy, gaining ground and moving forward in God.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

