Posted by: peebles | January 2, 2011

Luke 13:8 (KJV), ”…This year also…”

Luke 13:8 (KJV), ”…This year also…”

Here we are at the beginning of not only a new day, but also a new month and a new year. During the last year, we can look back and testify of the faithfulness of God, the blessing of the Lord, His provision and protection. Now let us draw strength and encouragement from our text for today, let our hearts be stout, bold and strong in the Lord as we enter into this new day.

This year also may we know His faithfulness and love,

This year also may we know His forgiveness and tenderness,

This year also may we know His blessing and favour,

This year also may we know His grace and mercy,

This year also may we know His justification and sanctification,

This year also may we know His provision and protection,

This year also may we know His increase and prosperity,

This year also may we know His maturity and wisdom,

This year also may we know His bounty and abundance,

This year also may we know His healing and deliverance,

This year also may we know His pardon and peace,

This year also may we know His salvation and majesty,

This year also may we know His direction and anointing,

This year also may we know His Kingdom and Glory,

This year also may we know His Divine power in the Holy Spirit.

This year also, God knows the plans for your life; plans to bless you from the dawn of the New Year until the twilight of it. For the Bible says in Deuteronomy 11:12 (KJV), “The eyes of the LORD thy God are always upon it, from the beginning of the year even unto the end of the year.” His eyes are also upon you to bless you, and give you His best.

This year also, may we be wrap His blessings around us like a garment, covering us in His love. We do not enter this year with a hope that is feeble, but we have a hope like an anchor, that is steadfast and sure, grounded in the Saviour’s love.

‘This year also,’ implies a limit. Just as this new year will one day come to an end. So one day soon the day of grace will be over, the door will be closed and time as we know it will come to an end.

Will those who have an unbelieving heart, have one this year also? For many this year also may be their last. Would it not be better to start this year with Jesus Christ as your Saviour and end it with Him?

If this year also be my last, then Lord let me serve you with everything I have, let me unreservedly be totally surrendered to You. Lord let me do Your will with a holy zeal and hunger for the Kingdom of God. May this year, I serve you with a passion and power in the Holy Spirit.

This year also, let me give my all for you; as You have given Your all for me.

May this year also, I lift up the name of Jesus Christ my Saviour and His work of salvation at the cross of Calvary.

May this year also, my confession of faith be, I know that my Redeemer Lives! I know my God is faithful and I know that my God is an awesome God.

My friend, we enter into this new day, this new month, and this new year, with a new hope, a fresh enthusiasm, and a fire within our hearts burning brightly. May we begin this year also, with a fresh passion for the things of the Kingdom of God, because we know that, “this year also”, we serve a God who is Mighty to save, for whom nothing is too difficult, and with whom all things are possible. His mercies are new every morning and fresh every evening, because He is a faithful God, “this year also!”

God bless you my friend, Matthew


Leave a Reply

Categories

