Posted by: peebles | December 30, 2010

Psalm 54:6 (KJV) ~ I will freely sacrifice unto thee: I will praise thy name, O LORD; for it is good.

Psalm 54:6 (KJV) ~ I will freely sacrifice unto thee: I will praise thy name, O LORD; for it is good.

As the young man and his girlfriend stand on the door step of her house, he gives his sweetheart a kiss goodnight and says, “Goodnight, Kathy”. She says to him, “This Californian dew is just a little heavier than usual tonight.” “Really,” he replies, “from where I am standing, the sun is shining all over the place.” She then closes the front door and Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) steps from the front porch of the house onto the sidewalk. He is wearing a suit, a brown hat and holding an umbrella. He looks up at the pouring rain, then smiles and starts to sing the theme song to the movie, Singing in the Rain. The dance scene and the song are legendary. The song was written by Freed and Brown for the film which was made in 1952. With a lilt in his voice, Gene Kelly sings the cheerful, timeless words of the song, because he is so in love with his girlfriend Kathy Selden (Debbie Reynolds).

I’m singing in the rain, just singing in the rain,
What a glorious feeling, I’m happy again,
I’m laughing at clouds, so dark up above,
‘Cause the sun’s in my heart and I’m ready for love,
Let the stormy clouds chase everyone from the place,
Come on with the rain, I’ve a smile on my face,
I’ll walk down the lane with a happy refrain,
‘Cause I’m singing, just singing in the rain.

My friend, do you only sing unto the Lord when the sun is shining and everything is going your way? Or, have you learnt to sing in the rain? Has it become too difficult a thing to do, to freely sacrifice unto the Lord a song of praise to His name? For the LORD is good and His mercies endure forever, His tender loving-kindness is ever before you. I know there is a time to laugh and a time to cry and I am not saying we should be insensitive, but surely, whenever or wherever you can, you can sing our praise unto the Lord who is so in love with you. May the fruit of your lips pour unto the Lord your sacrifice of praise, because you, in turn, are so in Love with Him.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

