Posted by: peebles | December 6, 2010

Habakkuk 3:19 (NIV) ~ “The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

Habakkuk 3:19 (NIV) ~ “The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

This verse is part of a prayer, which the prophet Habakkuk spoke of in faith, to the Lord. The whole chapter is filled with meaning, so many powerful words to unpack and learn from. In his prayer, Habakkuk asked the Lord to renew His deeds of awesome wonder and power in his day, and for His praise to fill the whole earth; for the glory of God to be known to all who dwell on earth. Furthermore, even in the days when it seems that everything that could go wrong, does go wrong, yet we will rejoice in God our Saviour, for He is a faithful God. Then, chapter three ends with these wonderful words of faith and glory (Habakkuk 3:19 (NIV)), “The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

There are three things that stand out:

1= The Sovereign LORD is my strength.

2= He makes my feet like that of a deer.

3= He enables me to go on the heights.

Three times in the Bible, we can read this same verse, “He makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.” The first two are from 2 Samuel 22:34 and Psalm 18:33 (both NIV) which say, “He enables me to stand on the heights.” But here, in Habakkuk, God wants us to not only stand on the heights, but to go higher up in Him, to new, higher heights; to climb higher in the things of God, and the things of His Kingdom, glory and power.

I can remember watching the Walt Disney film, Bambi. One of the last scenes in the film is when the deer climbs up and stands tall on top of the rock face. The deer had endured many trials, but came through them all, stronger for it. All through our walk with God, we will face struggles and the road may at times, feel rocky, but we know He is our strength. Even when we don’t feel as if can take another step, He carries us, and He enables us to keep going: He is our strength.

“He makes my feet like that of a deer.” Recently, I watched a nature programme on deer. One such deer bounded gracefully from one rock to another, leaping, and carefully planning its next step forward, reaching to go higher. Its eyes ever upward, with its feet on solid ground, looking for the next step to take. Then it found a stop and rested awhile to feed, and drink. Thereafter, it began to climb higher with each and every step.

“He enables me to go on the heights.” Just as the deer climbed the mountain to reach the top; so also, God wants us to climb higher in Him. Not only does He want us to climb higher, He enables us to do so. Yes, He enables us to go on the heights.

My friend, God wants every one of us to climb higher in Him, to know more of His glory and power, and for us to see His deeds of wonder and power in our days. Our eyes must be ever fixed upward on Jesus, our path be solid, firm in the Saviour’s love. We draw strength from Him, to grow in the things of God in leaps and bounds, to take leaps of faith and climb higher in God, for our God will enable us to do so, as we take the first step to climb higher in Him.

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

