Posted by: peebles | November 25, 2010

Luke 17:16 (NIV) He threw himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him—and he was a Samaritan.

Luke 17:16 (NIV) He threw himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him—and he was a Samaritan.

Here is a very powerful verse, this man who was a Samaritan threw himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him. May be this verse does not grab your attention the first time you read this story, however the history between Jews and Samaritans were at times very hostile. Jesus ministered to this Samaritan out of compassion and love. The Samaritan then obeyed the word from Jesus and as he did so he received his healing. Although ten different people who all had leprosy were healed that day because of their obedience to Jesus, only one came back, threw himself at the feet of Jesus and thanked him.

This story from Luke hits home to me to take time to thank Jesus for all the things He has done for me. To bow before Him and their at His feet in humble gratitude thank Him. After reflecting upon our text for today I have to ask the question, “How many times do I actually take the time to say, “Thank you Jesus for everything you have done for me?”’ To make the time to stop in a midst my busy life style, fall at His feet and thank Jesus Christ my Saviour, my healer and my King for saving my soul and making me whole. To even make the time to show God my gratitude and appreciation for His mercy, grace, love, forgiveness, provision, protection and healing. To thank God for answers to prayers and for always being there when I need His help.

This Samaritan man was not embarrassed or ashamed to say thank you in public to Jesus, He was not ashamed to raise his voice to the Lord in praise for what He had done for him. What is even more amazing is that he; a Samaritan threw himself at Jesus` feet to say, “Thank you” in front of everyone.

Where has all the gratitude to the Lord gone? Someone once said we should have, “An attitude of gratitude” when it comes to the Lord. When was the last time we even said, “Lord thank you for saving me, thank you for my salvation?” Or even said, Thank you Jesus” for shedding your precious blood and dying for me on the cross of Calvary to take away all my sins. “Thank you Jesus” for rising from the dead, for giving me a home in heaven to look forward to, Thank you Jesus” for sending the Holy Spirit in to my life.

I have often thought that we spend so much time asking God for things, but take very little time to say, “Thank you God “. The Lord has done so much for us each and every day, yet do we ever make the time to come before him and say, “Thank you Lord“. Or has modern day society so affected us that we have become such a selfish and self-centred ungrateful people?

I love Psalm 136 (NIV) each verse starts with this, “Give thanks to the Lord ” Then each verse ends with this, “His love endures forever.” The more we make the time to say, “ Thank you Jesus ” and mean it, the more we become a people who do not take God for granted but have a grateful heart for the grace, mercy, forgiveness and love of the Lord. In the Old Testament you can read of the people of God, giving a thank offering to the Lord, time and time again. Even in the New Testament I read time and time again of people giving thanks to the Lord for each and every little thing because, they recognize what an awesome God He is and are so incredibly grateful to know their sins forgiven and their names written in the Lambs book of Life.

When I first accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Saviour there was this simple song that I sang in church with these lyrics:

Thank you Lord for saving my soul, thank you Lord for making me whole,

Thank you lord for giving to me, Thy great salvation so rich and free.

My friend, in our text for today taken from Luke chapter 17 ten people received healing yet only one came back to fall at the feet of Jesus with a humble heart full of gratitude and say, “Thank you” to Jesus. The question is if you were one of the ten that were healed, which one would you be? Would you be among the nine who never once acknowledge the love, mercy and grace of God to heal you, or would you be the one who came back and fell at feet of Jesus Christ and thanked Him?

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. hello, i was just needing some support right about. i have had alot happen since halloween of 2010. i have so much on my plate. my daughter is 8 yrs old with a severe heart proplem, and now she has severe asthma, now my daughter has been having bad headaches. and the most scariest thing is that she has blackouts, i mean she has panic attacks real bad. is there anything to do.
    thank you lost souls


Leave a Reply

Categories

