Posted by: peebles | November 10, 2010

Song of Solomon 4:7 (Amplified Bible) ~ He exclaimed, “O my love, how beautiful you are!”

Song of Solomon 4:7 (Amplified Bible) ~ He exclaimed, “O my love, how beautiful you are!”

Within the book of Song of Songs we are led into a dance of romance. The language of love is spoken so sweetly, as the writer pours out his heart to the love of his life. His descriptive words paint a perfect picture, a masterpiece of matchless beauty, with which none can compare. He comes to the point where he says, “I am faint with love.” “Oh my darling, how beautiful you are.” My lover is mine and I am his. I call out in Spanish, “Te amo.” I love, I adore you, my heart is turned towards you, and it embraces your love.

The famous Scottish poet Robert Burns (25 January 1759 – 21 July 1796) once wrote this heartfelt poem to the woman he loved, the title of which is, “My Love is Like a Red, Red Rose”.

O my Luve’s like a red, red rose, that’s newly sprung in June:
O my Luve’s like the melodie, that’s sweetly play’d in tune.
As fair art thou, my bonnie lass, so deep in luve am I:
And I will luve thee still, my dear, till a’ the seas gang dry:
Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear, and the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
I will luve thee still, my dear, while the sands o’ life shall run.
And fare thee weel, my only Luve, and fare thee weel, a while!
And I will come again, my Luve, tho’ it were ten thousand mile.

My friend, our Bridegroom, Jesus, loves us with an everlasting love. He is our lover who embraces us with His love. It is not a selfish love, but one of sacrifice, one which cost Him His life on the cross of Calvary for each and every one of us, because He loves us so much. His name is like perfume poured out, His aroma, His fragrance is beyond compare. He is the Rose of Sharon, fairest among ten thousand times ten thousand. He calls us His treasured possession, the apple of His eye. When Jesus looks at us we can hear Him say, from our text for today in Song of Solomon 4:7 (Amplified Bible),He exclaimed, ‘O my love, how beautiful you are!’”

In the words of an old gospel hymn, we can read about the depth of the love of God for us. His love cannot be measured in human terms, for human terms have limitations. But his love is eternal, without end, and beyond measure.

The love of God is greater far, than tongue could tell,

It goes beyond the highest stars and reaches to the lowest hell.

The guilty pair bowed down with care, God gave His only Son,

His erring child He reconciled, and pardoned from his sin.

Could we with ink the ocean fill, and were the skies of parchment made,

Were every stalk on earth a quill, and every scribe by trade,

To write the love of God above would drain the ocean dry,

Nor could the scroll contain the whole, though stretched from sky to sky.

Let His love embrace you today as Jesus looks at you with eyes full of love and acceptance. Let His words speak to your heart today as He says from Song of Solomon 4:7 (Amplified Bible), “…‘O my love, how beautiful you are!’”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

