Posted by: peebles | October 11, 2010

Mark 6:31 (KJV) ~ And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while.

Mark 6:31 (KJV) ~ And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while. 

It was a beautiful morning as I walked past the gate to the entrance that leads you to Balloch Castle. Just as you walk through the gates, there is a little cottage on the right hand side, with the most amazing scented roses, in full bloom. Each petal is like velvet and romantically as soft as silk. Each flower is the size of a man’s hand stretched out. As I walked towards the castle, all around me are these trees that have been there for more years than anyone could tell, and there beside them are wonderful smelling Scottish heather growing wild on the ground. From the grounds of Balloch Castle I can look down towards the bonny, bonny banks of Loch Lomond, as the sun shone on the hills of Ben Lomond, spilling onto the quiet waters. 

For a brief moment, I stand still gazing upon such an awesome sight of God’s work of creation at its best. Slowly, I walked down the hill towards the bonny banks, not a soul can been seen, and the only noise I can hear is of the ducks nearby and the curious swans calling out to each other as they glide effortlessly on top of the water toward me, in a hope that I have some bread for them. Before long, I not only have a few swans and ducks, but also it seems like they have brought all the family and friends in a hope for something to eat. How could I disappoint them? I had bought two loaves for such an occasion. With a huge smile on my face, I take out one slice at a time and breaking it up into little pieces I cast the bread into the water. It is like a feeding frenzy, the larger swans and ducks were getting the lion’s share until I took out more bread and did the same thing, only this time I would fling it to where the tiny ducks were, so everyone got something, but everyone of them ate the bread as fast as they could. There is tremendous joy to be had in such a simple child-like activity.  With each handful I flung out towards them, I had this huge smile on my face. I was so happy and so contented to enjoy the simple things in life. When my loaves were finished all the swans and ducks swam away, not one of them stopped to say,” Thank you.” They had their morning, quick snack and now they were off, franticly paddling away to face the world. 

After the last swan and duck had swam away, from behind me I heard a small bird begin to sing, it sang so sweetly as I stood there and closed my eyes, while the sun shone on the bonny banks and the cool morning breeze blew off Loch Lomond, gently massaging my face with its tender touch. Oh, such bliss, a moment of perfect peace.

I could have stood there forever just savouring every second, listening to the bird singing its morning song of praise to God. Just behind me was a picnic bench, where I sat looking across the Loch. I reached in my bag for my Bible and opened it at Mark 6:31 (KJV), “And he said unto them, ‘Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while.’” The words, “rest a while” really spoke to my heart.

Today has been the first time in a long, long time that I made the time to just rest, and consciously made a decision to find a place to be alone with God. I could not have picked a more beautiful or romantic spot to rest and be alone with God than on the bonny banks of Loch Lomond on such a glorious day. As the ducks and swans swam away, it looked as if they were gliding upon the still waters of the beautiful Loch, yet underneath they were paddling like mad. Can you identify with this statement? In the eyes of the world and those who are closet to you, you seem to glide through life with such ease, at times you give the impression that your as cool as a cucumber and nothing gets to you, yet underneath you are paddling franticly, rushing here and there, paddling hard against worry and wondering how things are going to work out, and at times you even feel battle weary. Your devotional time is limited to a few moments, as you paddle away to face the world. Today can you hear the Lord say to you, from our text for today in Mark 6:31 (KJV), “And he said unto them, ‘Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while’”? 

My friend, sometimes in life it is better to just take the time to rest in His Presence and wait upon the Lord as the Bible says in Isaiah 40:31 (KJV), “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” Rest in His Presence, wait upon Him and let Him renew your strength. Take the time, and make the time, to be alone with God and rest a while in the loving arms of Jesus. 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

