Posted by: peebles | September 13, 2010

Acts 3:6 (NIV) ~ Then Peter said, “Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk.”

Acts 3:6 (NIV) ~ Then Peter said, “Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk.” 

What an awesome statement for Peter to speak in faith over this man’s life and impart unto Him Life and healing in Jesus’ name. “Such as I have,” begs the question: what do you have to give a crippled world which begs on the doorstep of the church every day for a miracle? It cries out, “Feed me, help me, rescue me, heal me and save me.” The answer is, you have Jesus Christ who can save, heal, deliver, set free and radically change someone’s life, from being crippled and begging on a doorstep to jumping to their feet walking and praising God, filled with His riches.

When all the silver and gold of this world no longer feeds the needs of the people, there remains only one thing – it is a spiritual hunger that only Jesus Christ can fill. The Bible says in 1 Peter 1:18 to 19 (NIV), “For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ.”

“Such as I have I give thee.” Peter had something to give the world because He had spent time with Jesus. Notice if you will that Peter and John were on the way to temple at the time of prayer. Then, God moved through the power of the Holy Spirit and answered the crippled man’s plea by giving him more than he had asked for. Reaching out and taking the man by the hand, and helping him up showed his compassion. He lifted the man up, he helped him rise above his circumstances and imparted Life into him through the power of Jesus’ name.

“Such as I have I give thee.” If you want to be effective in this world, if you want to move in the power of the Holy Spirit, then live a holy life, spend time with Jesus, spend time in prayer, fill your life with His Life so when the opportunity comes your way you can see the power of God move and miracles happen because you have something to give the world. 

My friend, when you open your front door you will find, on your door step, a world crippled by sin and begging for help. Will you reach out and lift someone up, will your reach out and help someone, will you reach out with the compassion and love of Jesus Christ? And then, filled with power of the Holy Spirit, will you say like Peter from our text for today, Acts 3:6 (NIV), “Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk.”

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

