Posted by: peebles | July 8, 2010

John 18:37 (NIV) ~ To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth.

John 18:37 (NIV) ~ To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth.  

Now, here is a statement from Jesus that grabs your attention, “For this cause.”

Jesus knew that he was born for a cause; he stood up to be counted for the “cause” He believed in. His cause was to bear witness to the truth, to do the will of His Father, to give His life and to die for the sins of the world, so that people will no longer live in fear of death or be held captive by the evil one, or go to a lost eternity. For this cause, Jesus came to set the sinner free from the shackles of the enemy, to give people a new hope to live a victorious life filled with kingdom living with a better future, and for them to have heaven as their home. For this cause, Jesus went to Calvary where He gave His all for a cause worth dying and living for.

Just last week I saw several people run in a marathon with this message written across their vest tops, “I am running for my cause, because I believe in it.” 

The Apostle Paul once wrote in Colossians 1: 9 to 10 (KJV), “For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding: that ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God.” 

Paul had a cause to live for, it was one that drove him forward each and every day. His cause was to do the will of his heavenly Father and serve Jesus. It was a cause worth standing up for and a cause worth giving his all for.

In the Old Testament, when men went into battle, they took a banner and lifted it high; they rallied under a cause to serve God. It ultimately cost them something to stand up of their cause, but they believed in it with all their hearts. For some, it would be their reputation, for some their jobs and for some their lives, but they stood up to be counted. They had the courage to fight for their cause. They did not leave it to someone else, they believed in it and stood shoulder to shoulder with these words from Joshua 24:15 (NIV), “As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

For me, there is not greater cause to believe in than the gospel of Jesus Christ, to serve God, to stand up and be counted, to rally under the banner of Jesus; to have the courage to take my stand against injustice, minister to the poor and preach the gospel. I, like the Apostle Paul, am not ashamed of the gospel for it is the power of God unto salvation.

Though it may cost me my reputation, my job, or my ultimately my life, I cannot think of any better cause that I would rather give my all for, than being a Christian, a follower of Jesus. For this cause, I gladly take up the baton and carry the flame of the Holy Spirit with the message of the gospel. For this cause I say, “As for me and my house we will serve the Lord “. 

My friend, I ask you, what kind of cause do you live for? What kind of cause do you give your all for? What banner are you going to rally under? Are you running your race for Jesus because you believe in His cause? When you were born again you were born again for a cause and cause worth living for: to be a witness to the Truth just like Jesus from our text for today in John 18:37 (NIV), “To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth.” 

God bless you my friend, Matthew.


Responses

  1. What you are pointing out in this blog is very important, and most Christian denominations need to start teaching it. Most Christian denominations teach their followers that they need to behave like Christ. They tell their parishioners that to live a Holy, acceptable Christian life is to follow Christs example of doing good. Feed the poor, help the needy, etc. However, Christ did not come into the world to show us how to live out our days on earth. Christ came to be the propitiation for our sin, and to preach. We are called to bear fruit, which is to deliver the good news to anyone we can, exposing them to the Word of God. This does not save a person, but establishes the arena by which a person can be given Grace by God. This was God’s will from the beginning, and it is our resonable service. This is why the Apostles talk of patience and agape love toward everyone (even our enemies). Sadly, Christianity has become a place to come for service and worship, then, when the parishioners leave, their job is to live good decent lives. Basically, they are taught that the preaching is left to the preacher, and you are called to hear what we teach you and be good Christians. This is not what the Bible teaches. Doing good deeds while walking this earth as a saved person is the result of Christ that is in us, and Christ that is growing in us day by day. Deeds are not the action, but the reaction to Grace. Works is very different than deeds. Deeds are good things we do for our neighbor, and works is doing the will of the Father, which is preaching His Word. Christ did the work of redemption and preaching, and we are to continue preaching the good news to anyone and everyone. We are laborers, we are builders together with Christ.

    As you posted above, Colossians 1: 9 to 10 (KJV), “For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding: that ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God.”

    Paul is talking about bearing fruit from the work and labor of preaching the Word of God. This is, as Paul says, a walk that is worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing.

    Excellent blog!

    Thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

